SATA2 Hard Drive Jumper - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2006, 06:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Question SATA2 Hard Drive Jumper

Hi

I recently bought a brand new Dell Dimension 5150. It has a Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA primary hard drive and I have just added a Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA2 slave hard drive. On the slave drive there is a jumper that limits the data transfer rate to 1.5 G bits per second (for motherboards that don't support auto-negotiation), or you can remove the jumper for 3.0 G bits per second operation.

My question is what should I set the jumper to, does the Dimension 5150 support auto-negotiation? How can I find out?

Many thanks
DJPT-UK
__________________

DJPT-UK is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 06:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

just throw the drive in, if it works it works. either way it won't make a difference seeing as not even full SATA bandwidth has been reached by a HDD yet.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 07:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Default

I've tried the drive and it does work. It's a bit on the slow side though with the jumper removed and there's no difference with the jumper in place.
DJPT-UK is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 12:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

SATA Drives that have jumper spots are EIDE one with the interface swithced out. SATA Drives don't need Jumpers, they are always master reguardless of how many you have because only one Drive per cable.
Ste is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 03:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
SATA Drives that have jumper spots are EIDE one with the interface swithced out.
not always the case. the jumpers can serve other purposes e.g. limiting bandwidth and enabling certain features such as NCQ (i think)
Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.