SATA Trouble, please help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2006, 11:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Angry SATA Trouble, please help!

I'm totally in the dark here, so I really hope someone can help me out.
The problem is the following:

I was running a configuration with one S-ATA HD, a western digital WD800JD. Needed more space so I ordered a second WD800JD.

Installed it and the pc wouldn't boot or even recognize the new drive. In fact it wouldn't even recognize the older one when the new drive was connected.

Thought that was a bit strange so I disconnected the original drive and tried the new one on it's own, just to see if it would work on the primary S-ATA channel and to eliminate the possibility of any conflicts between the two drives.

Still, the drive wasn't found so I RMA'd it, got a new drive and had the exact same problem...
RMA'd it again and now my pc atleast tries to boot with the two drives connected. But the second drive is still not found and I get the BSOD during boot.

I updated the mobo bios and tried to get the drive to work by disconnecting about everything else, including the original WD800JD, and booting from the xp cd with the manufacturers raid driver disk. Still nothing. The drive isn't found in setup nor in the raid config utility

Now what I just can't understand is, how can it be that my computer just won't recognize the new drive while the other one's just fine???
I would say the drive needs to be RMA'd, the only thing is, it's already the third drive they sent me...

Thanks for reading this

Asus K8V-X socket 754
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
Ati Radeon 9800 pro
1GB Corsair ram
WD800JD 80GB S-ATA (working)
WD800JD 80GB S-ATA (not working)
__________________

RajivS is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 12:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

SATA2 hdd? sometimes they have a jumper that kind of switches them to be registered as an SATA drive which is apparently required on some boards but not most
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 07:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Unfortunately the WD800JD is a SATA 1 drive. So, no jumpers should be required as far as I know. They weren't included anyway. My other WD800JD works fine without any jumpers.
RajivS is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 07:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Default

It was a jumper setting after all.
Had to limit the HD to 150mb/s for some reason.
But It works now still isn't recognized by windows but I guess that won't be so much trouble anymore. Thanks
RajivS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.