SATA raid 1 on Win2K3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2005, 07:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default SATA raid 1 on Win2K3

Am trying to set up SATA RAID 1 on win2k3 server at work, have two identical sata drives and the sata bios has set them up correctly as raid 1.

However the drives didnt show up in win2k3 (though in the drive manager they did as inactive), Should I partition them to activate them for win2k3? if so should I format both or just the source drive (not its mirror?

We tried partitioning both, but this made windows show two seperate drives and data stored on the source did not replicate onto the mirror.

Please help as it is getting rather frustrating!!!

Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 10:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what is the RAID controller/motherboard you are using?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 12:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

nevermind, have sorted it now, its an adaptec controller.

But eventually figured out how to get windows to see it as a mirror config!

thanks anyway!
__________________
hygor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.