SATA master/ATA slave hard drive help? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2006, 01:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Mmmm, How are the Optical Drives Connected? I assume on the other EIDE Channel, 1 Set to Master other to Slave.

Switch them Around, Put the New Harddrive on that channel and put your Optical Drives on the other. So in short just switch Ports.
You may have to enable the second EIDE Channel through CMOS Setup.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 01:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Alright when i turned on my computer it said DISK Drive DETECTED...and i went into device manager....and its there....now how do i get it to show up on my computer?
__________________

tyberesk is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 01:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
Default

and now my disk drives arnt working....? so i guess that port is wrong but now what do i do to get everything working at once. The ports are right next to each other if that helps.
tyberesk is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 01:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Did you check in the CMOS Setup. Like I said you may have to enable the Secondary EIDE Adapter.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 01:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
Thumbs up

alright how do i do that?....and thanks for helping me, i sware im retarded sometimes Well i know how to get into it...but how do i enable it, where do i havta go into?....and then what am i gunna havta do so my computer will show the new hard drive
tyberesk is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 01:49 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

It depends on the Motherboard manufacture. However the most common buttons are, F!, F2 Or Delete. You press these buttons at the POST Screen. You then enter the CMOS Setup and look through all the options untill you find one that relates to the Secondary EIDE Adpater.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 01:56 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Well i pressed F2...and go into the settings, but then i couldnt find what i was supposed to be looking for?
tyberesk is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 01:58 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Find your manual and Read.. Lol Really, Each motherboard is differen't you have to keep digging.

Also, try updating your motherboard drives through the manufactures website.
You may need to flash your BIOS. But it sounds like either the Adpater port needs to be Enabled through some means or it is damaged and doesn't work at all.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 02:00 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
Default

how do u flash your bios? and ummmmmm how do i make the hard drive appear under the my computer set up
tyberesk is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 02:11 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 12
Default

I cant seem to find a way to enable the EIDE port anywhere.
__________________

tyberesk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.