SATA issues...

Status
Not open for further replies.

CalcProgrammer1

Fully Optimized
OK, I'm going to start off by saying I'm a total noob when it comes to SATA. I've used IDE up until now, except for in my laptop (has a SATA drive, but since only one drive, no configuration was necessary).

For Christmas I got a Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1.5TB, SATA 300 drive. Problem is, my computer has a Silicon Image SiI3112 chip that is limited to 1.5gbps mode. I can't get the stupid PC to see the drive. I know the drive is fine, got an external SATA/IDE enclosure and the drive works fine on that, used it to copy all my files to the drive but wanted to see if I could get it inside my PC. I also know that the SATA controller has worked once before in my PC, when my laptop's first hard drive got a bad sector, I cloned it to my warranty replacement and then stuffed the broken drive in my desktop for a good zeroing out before returning it to HP. The SATA controller recognized it just fine, though I'm pretty sure it was a 1.5Gbps drive.

I can't get the two to work together. I think I need to insert a jumper on the drive. I have a SATA power, SATA data, and then a 4 pin space on the back of my drive. The label says to put a jumper on two of the pins to go into 1.5gbps mode. Problem is, that doesn't seem to do anything. I don't know if my jumper isn't the right size (really tight fit, not sure if it's making connections), I pulled it off the master/slave settings from an IDE CD-RW drive. I also don't know how to configure BIOS for SATA, it appears to have a second BIOS for RAID stuff (only using one drive so not making a RAID). The BIOS lets me pick between IDE and RAID for SATA mode. I tried both, but nothing worked. It either gets stuck at the BIOS and does nothing, or it boots and never recognizes the drive is there. The drive continues to work fine in the external enclosure though.