Sata II - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2006, 03:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 14
Default

yea partition magic recognises all cylinders and partitions, and i have run tests on the drive and all appears OK.

The sata drive is fairly new, and has no bad sectors or anything either.
__________________

raj177 is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 06:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Default

Go to device manager and find the IDE ATA/ATAPI area and expand it. Now right click on the various channels and go to advanced settings and make sure its set to "DMA if possible". Sometimes windows defaults to PIO mode which is gonna be a lot slower so that may be causing your problems.
__________________

__________________
AMD 3000+
2gb RAM
X800 PCI-e
80gb + 250gb WD HDDs
X-FI Xtreme Music
DVD/CD-RW Drive
IfYouHaveToAsk is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 06:33 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 14
Default

hi,
the drive is set to DMA mode 6....and the IDE drive is set to DMA mode 5. I have also just tried reinstalling windows with no luck.
__________________

raj177 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.