SATA Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2006, 01:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 21
Default SATA Help

My friend just got a new SATA drive from WD. He's trying to install it into a Chaintech MB. I think its SK8T800, its a 64 bit MB. Anyway he can't figure out how to install it properly. He say's he's gone into his CMOS and looked at everything and turned all the SATA stuff on. I'm not sure what happens when he presses F6 at reinstall, but he says he has tried that and it hasn't worked. Is there something small I can't think of? Thanks Guys
__________________

remexx is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 05:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Prssin F6 is for RAID i think. My experinces with SATA are almost identical to my PATA experinces. just reformat and use it like you would normally use an IDE drive.
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 05:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Install the sata drivers (F6) - on a floppy - make from the motherboard CD.
turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.