SATA HDD problem - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2005, 07:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Rich M
Default

I have found that sata cables that come with your motherboards are basically junk, and had an issue a while back with an Abit mb where I had to purchase decent cables to keep it running. As a result I always buy cables for sata drives...see if yours are looses and remember they are hot swappable, so it is permissable to boot up and hold one end on the motherboard tight to check it.
__________________

Rich M is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 08:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to Zeuskotg Send a message via Yahoo to Zeuskotg
Default

Rich M I haven't tried your method yet but everytime I boot up it searches for th drive for like a minute like it's there but it's not.
__________________

Zeuskotg is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 10:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

You may have a bad PSU. Powmax is like the worst PSU brand you can get.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 10:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to Zeuskotg Send a message via Yahoo to Zeuskotg
Default

PSU is fine all the voltages are reading correctly I have. I have disconnected everything including fans cd drive except one HDD and it still does not read.
Zeuskotg is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 11:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

You could try the freezer trick, and if that dosn't work, it may be that the SATA cable is bad. If not, then you need to test the hard drive on another computer, and if it works, it could be a lot of things.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 08-17-2005, 02:26 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to Zeuskotg Send a message via Yahoo to Zeuskotg
Default

what is the freezer trick? Plus I have a total of 4 or 5 SATA cords and I know they all can't be bad.
__________________

Zeuskotg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.