SATA Hard drive problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2006, 11:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 69
Default SATA Hard drive problems

I have a 40GB Maxtor hard drive installed which xp is installed on.
I have a tiny 3.9 GB hard drive just for some files.

I purchased a 160GB SATA DiamondMax 10 (maxtor) yesterday and it arrived today, its for extra storage (Games etc)

I already had installed all necessary drivers when i first got my Motherboard Asrock K8-upgrade.

I attached the SATA drive and BIOS recognises it. Its at non-raid (dunno what that means).

It doesnt show up in my computer most likely because its no partitioned and formatted.

Went to Disk Management to format the drive but it gives an error and the drive disappears.
I tried partitioning it with Partition Magic 8 which also gives an error.

What do i do now?
Thanks in advance for any help
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon x2 4200+ Dual core
2GB Ram (2x 512mb PC3200)
Nvidia Geforce 8600GT
40 GB Hdd
160 GB SATA
Lite On DVD Rom CD-RW Combo
NEC DVD RW
gtwill040 is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 11:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Track down a copy of DiscWizard. It's a free program that Seagate released, but it should work on all SATA drives. It should sort you out.
__________________

euchrid is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 11:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 69
Default

Ok thanks, i just downloaded Maxtors big drive enabler.

I have Service pack 2 for xp.
I will also search for DiscWizard and let you know what happens.

Thanks again and heres hoping
__________________
AMD Athlon x2 4200+ Dual core
2GB Ram (2x 512mb PC3200)
Nvidia Geforce 8600GT
40 GB Hdd
160 GB SATA
Lite On DVD Rom CD-RW Combo
NEC DVD RW
gtwill040 is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 11:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 69
Default

DiscWizard ask for the model number of a Seagate hard drive and it says its important. Should i try maxblast 4?
__________________
AMD Athlon x2 4200+ Dual core
2GB Ram (2x 512mb PC3200)
Nvidia Geforce 8600GT
40 GB Hdd
160 GB SATA
Lite On DVD Rom CD-RW Combo
NEC DVD RW
gtwill040 is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 12:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 69
Default

Maxblast 4 says its partitioned and formatted it. But it hasnt really done it.
__________________
AMD Athlon x2 4200+ Dual core
2GB Ram (2x 512mb PC3200)
Nvidia Geforce 8600GT
40 GB Hdd
160 GB SATA
Lite On DVD Rom CD-RW Combo
NEC DVD RW
gtwill040 is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 02:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 69
Default

OK Nvidia had some new drivers, so i installed them and now i can access the drive to partition it.

However i used Partition Magic and it didnt get to complete the format because anti-virus was on.

Now the PC keeps restarting. Is there no way to stop it restarting so i can format it.

I dont think Fdisk can format a 160GB hard drive or can it?
__________________
AMD Athlon x2 4200+ Dual core
2GB Ram (2x 512mb PC3200)
Nvidia Geforce 8600GT
40 GB Hdd
160 GB SATA
Lite On DVD Rom CD-RW Combo
NEC DVD RW
gtwill040 is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 11:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 69
Default

Fixed it, i can access the drive now and its formatted with FAT32 with 149GB Free space. Guess thats not bad.

I remove my other 2 hard drives incase i formatted them by mistake.
Fdisked the drive and from dos FORMAT C:

Now i will install some games and see what happens

I reinstalled xp pro sp2 earlier aswel to see if it would fix on a clean install which it didnt any.
__________________
AMD Athlon x2 4200+ Dual core
2GB Ram (2x 512mb PC3200)
Nvidia Geforce 8600GT
40 GB Hdd
160 GB SATA
Lite On DVD Rom CD-RW Combo
NEC DVD RW
gtwill040 is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 11:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 69
Default

SATA I/O Problem now. Same \Device\Harddisk2\D error
So i cant write to the disc
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon x2 4200+ Dual core
2GB Ram (2x 512mb PC3200)
Nvidia Geforce 8600GT
40 GB Hdd
160 GB SATA
Lite On DVD Rom CD-RW Combo
NEC DVD RW
gtwill040 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.