SATA drives not reporting S.M.A.R.T. info - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2008, 12:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default SATA drives not reporting S.M.A.R.T. info

Ok, well in HDTune and Speedfan, none of my HDD's are identified in the SMART info. I remembered about a control mode for SATA drives in the BIOS, and see that there's an option called "Onboard SATA/IDE Control Mode." The choices are "IDE: SATA ports work as IDE mode," "AHCI: SATA ports work as AHCI mode," and "RAID/IDE: SATA ports work as RAID mode and IDE ports work as IDE mode."

It's currently set on IDE mode. Could this be the reason why my drives are not reporting back SMART data? If so, what should I change the option to?

There's also a couple other values I was wondering about. "SATA RAID/AHCI Mode" (options are Disabled, RAID, and AHCI) and "SATA Port0-3 Native Mode" are both disabled. Would it be one of these values instead or in combination with the other one I stated above?

Thanks for the help.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 01:11 AM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: SATA drives not reporting S.M.A.R.T. info

I've had motherboards that have had that option and Windows wouldn't install if it wasn't set to run in IDE mode. I ran SpeedFan on it and it ran fine. If you enable RAID or AHCI (Advanced Host Controller Interface), Windows, Linux or whatever you have will not boot up so don't change those options. You need to install a 3rd party controller to run those.

AHCI just enables a couple of features that SATA drives can do that IDE couldn't. Has nothing to do with SMART.

What you can try is enable your "SATA Port 0-3 Native Mode" and see if XP boots. It has some support for SATA controllers. This allows your drives to act as SATA drives and not as IDE. Maybe that's the reason I don't know. It is an odd one.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 08:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: SATA drives not reporting S.M.A.R.T. info

Yeah, I did a little googling on AHCI mode after I posted (shoulda done it before I posted eh? xD), and that's what it had said. Found a couple areas to make AHCI mode work after Windows is installed, but it seems like too much hassle to go through just to get a few other features (such as hotswapping...something I'm not gonna do anyway).

I'll try doing the Native mode. Thanks.

Edit: Booted up just fine, but didn't fix the problem.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 12:20 PM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: SATA drives not reporting S.M.A.R.T. info

Hmmm. Almost seems as if your motherboard is just telling you that it's using SMART. Have you tried a BIOS update? Could be a fix in there.

If you've already tried that, try turning SMART off and boot up. See if anything changes and if not, turn it back on and see if it changes. Also try clearing your CMOS. Never know with boards these days.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 12:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: SATA drives not reporting S.M.A.R.T. info

I was actually planning on doing a BIOS update today anway xD.

SMART was disabled before in BIOS (wasn't working), and then I enabled it a while ago, and it wasn't working still.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 01:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: SATA drives not reporting S.M.A.R.T. info

Updated BIOS, made sure SMART was enabled, made sure Native SATA mode was enabled...and still nothing =\.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 12:48 PM   #7 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: SATA drives not reporting S.M.A.R.T. info

Wow I guess your hard drive and motherboard just don't like each other. I really don't what else to say man. That is one weird problem your having.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 12:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: SATA drives not reporting S.M.A.R.T. info

Lol guess so. Oh well I suppose...

Odd though, because I have a 500GB SeaGate SATA drive, which isn't recognized by SMARt, a 320GB Western Digital SATA that's not recognized by SMARt, and a 160GB SeaGate SATA (hooked up through USB in an external enclosure tho) that's not recognized by SMART... But my external Maxtor 160GB (USB) is recognized in Speedfan, just no info is reported back from it? So apparently it has to do w/ my mobo's SATA controller, possibly?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 03:23 PM   #9 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: SATA drives not reporting S.M.A.R.T. info

Yeah maybe you should let Gigabyte know so they can look into it. Worth a try.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 04:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: SATA drives not reporting S.M.A.R.T. info

Hmm, good idea. I'll do that after work today...never thought of doing that I suppose.

Thanks for the help, appreciate it =).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drives; pata vs sata s37d System Upgrades 5 02-11-2008 05:22 PM
2 SATA Hard Drives (160gb each)/C&C 3 gurusan Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 9 09-20-2007 09:58 AM
Windows 'accessing' SATA drives before boot koosie Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 09-06-2007 03:07 AM
Buying good pair of SATA II drives now!!! Comdot New Systems | Building and Buying 14 08-31-2007 03:03 PM
New Western Digital Drives For AV Products maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-09-2007 02:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.