SATA drive not detected with Asus board - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2007, 12:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Default SATA drive not detected with Asus board

To give a bit of background, I've used SATA before on this custom built (by a friend) PC and it worked. When I reformated and so forth however, I bought a new SATA drive and this one refuses to be detected. I have an ASUS A8V Deluxe board and I plugged in the power cord and the SATA cable. There are 4 places I can plug in the SATA cable on my motherboard: 2 black ones that say SATA1 I think (hard to read) and 2 red ones that say SATA RAID1 I think. Anyway, I plug them into the black ones and my computer boots goes past the SATA detection utility and thinks its an IDE drive and it says that the 250gb drive is there; model number and all, but I can't configure it through that.

If I plug it into either red one the SATA utility says "Scanning drives..."
then
"Harddrive initiate failed.....
The BIOS has not installed....check device!!!!"

Yes, with that bad grammar and punctuation.

Anyway, I went into the BIOS to see if my controllers for SATA were on. I only saw the IDE controllers (my main HD is IDE, the one with windows), and I saw no SATA controller options at all! I installed the drivers on my motherboard disk and actually went the extra mile to find the newest compatible ones, no dice.


So anyway, someone please help! I spent $100 on this HD and I'd like it to work. Thanks ahead of time.
__________________

Kaizokuu is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 12:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Off Topic *****
 
Rundat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 265
Default

replace the hard drive, is the hard drive Maxtor?
__________________

__________________
Rundat is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 12:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

The black SATA connectors are most likely SATA2, whereas the red ones are SATA150.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 12:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Default

It is Western Digital and what does SATA2 and 150 mean to me, as far as which I should plug in to?
Kaizokuu is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 04:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Ok so my friend from another forum told me this:

Quote:
From your MOBO manual: http://dlsvr01.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/...a8v_deluxe.pdf
Page 47
Quote:
By default, The RAID connector is set as RAID. If you want to use it as an independent drive, set the Operation Mode to IDE Mode under the Advanced Menu.


Page 90 of that manual shows the menu settings on how to turn the raid controller into a standard HD controller. Set it from RAID to IDE.
Ok so sweet, I did that and it said that it found the drive and that it was "Installing BUS drivers" or something. Sweet!

Then I loaded windows and it still wasn't there. Did Disk Management etc. Any ideas?
Kaizokuu is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 10:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Default

bump
Kaizokuu is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 10:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rundat
replace the hard drive, is the hard drive Maxtor?
wats wrong with a Maxtor? i had mine for over 4 years, still working?
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 04:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Default

bump...
Kaizokuu is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 06:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kaizokuu
It is Western Digital and what does SATA2 and 150 mean to me, as far as which I should plug in to?
SATA2 is an updated version of SATA150. SATA 150 = 150gb/s, SATA2 = 300gb/s.

As for which one should you plug the drive into? That depends, is it a SATA150 drive or a SATA2 drive? It shouldn't matter which one you use if the drive is SATA150, because SATA150 is backwards compatible with SATA2...however, SATA2 plugs will not work in a SATA150 port (atleast I do not believe so).
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.