SATA Burner Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2007, 09:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default SATA Burner Problem

Recently I bought a new computer. Built it myself. It works 100% fine except for one thing. For some reason when I plub my SATA DVD burner intp the second SATA slot (first for hard drive and tried it in all the other slots) It refuses to boot up. Normally you hear a beep as the computer boots up but it starts, the screen never turns on and theres nothing from the computer to show its doing anything. Any ideas what I can do to get it to work?
__________________

exo316 is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 11:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

I didnt know there was such as a SATA Burner. I better brush up on the new tech. Is it enabled in your BIOS?
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 11:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 203
Default

some new mobo's manufacturers are coming out with an external SATA connector to connect a SATA drive or burner to the back of a computer. I'm not sure of the details, but i recommend looking at the manual of the burner if you already have not done so.
__________________
Computer noob in training.
savagenator is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 12:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default

As far as i can tell theres just the 4 sata connectors on the mainboard with the hard drive ones.
exo316 is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 09:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

I just built a computer with the Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe That has an external SATA plug I just didn't think anything was made for it yet. Even tho he's talking about internal. I know on my board i have to enable the Sata slots individually.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 10:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Make sure the drive is recognized by the BIOS. If it isn't, use the system's setup program to run the auto detect option. If the system still can't find the drive, make sure you have the latest version of the controller firmware and computer BIOS. If the system still can't find the drive, there's an excellent chance the drive is defective. Try installing it in a different computer, using a different controller (if not on the motherboard) to check it out.
__________________

datapimp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.