SATA Adapter? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2005, 08:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Default SATA Adapter?

My Dell desktop currently has a 160gb Serial ATA drive. The motherboard can accept a second SATA drive. Since I had a 160gb Hitachi Parallel ATA to add, I bought an adapter to plug it in as a SATA.
I have loaded the drivers and rebooted, but the drive is not being recognized. What am I missing?
__________________

mitchshin is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 09:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

so you have a PATA hd that you are connecting up to a SATA mainboard ?

I just bought 2 adapters that I have not used one is a SATA TO PATA, the other is a PATA to SATA. So whicj\h one is it that you have ?
__________________

__________________
[IMG]http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g80/viking_03/PCROOM1.jpg/IMG]
tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 09:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Default

My adapter connects a PATA drive to a SATA connection on the motherboard.
mitchshin is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 11:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

did you get the right one ? they make both and they look sort of the same, i have seen the pata mainboard to sata hd marked as
sata to pata, usually the sata to pata ( hd) looks like an enclosed oblong box...abd the other a square circuit board.
__________________
[IMG]http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g80/viking_03/PCROOM1.jpg/IMG]
tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 02:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cubicle Bunker
Posts: 109
Default

also make sure in your bios that SATA1 is enabled (that should be your add-on drive), i have my hard drive settings on SATA0 Master, SATA1 Secondary Master.
__________________
Dell Precision 670 (3.4GHz DP Xeon, 4GB DDR2, XPSP3)
Dell D800 (1.8GHz, 1GB, XPSP3)

I work with computers, I play FFXI.
vagnozzi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.