Samsung 19" 204B - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2006, 09:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Default Samsung 19" 204B

Dont know if this is hardware section but i imagin i bought a new moniter...Samsun 204B flatscreen 20 inch lcd and picture and everything is great accept in games...well i think the proper term for the problem im getting is "ghosting" when i move mouse a little to fast things seem to blur horribley and this is horrible for the games i play, Unreal tournament , quake 3 etc. is their any fix for it...ive installed all the drivers and i know i havnt connected anything wrong i checked.i figured i would post here first than call tech support cause i truely trust us fellow geeks more than tech for first opinion :P I also cant get into image setup with magic tune or with buttons on pc keeps telling me "unavailable" been looking everywhere to find somewhere to enable that but to no luck have i found it

geist is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 10:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581

The 204b is a great looking monitor, it's response time is fast enough that ghosting shouldn't be an issue. Are you running these games at the monitor's native resolution or below?
Also, when you're in the game, try doing an "auto adjust", see if that helps.
Lastly, be sure your response time is set decently high when your games are playing and doesn't suddenly go way down when they're on.

Jorsoft is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 10:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8

Alright , i see from your specs u and me have the same video card etc... my mistake its the 20" model and where would i find these auto adjust and how would i find the response time...this moniter is great and supports awsome resolutions i would love to have this thing working and yes im running games at its recommended resolution of 1600x1200 im really noob with moniters so i appologize *edit*
Ive found the auto adjust button but whenever i press it it just says "auto adjust not available" im running this moniter in digital output instead of analog one also...would that be a problem? ive tried the analog also but found no improvment
geist is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 02:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8

called samsung earlier their replacing it...hope this one doesnt give me the same problems
geist is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.