Same motherboard, different temperatures? :s - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2007, 05:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default Same motherboard, different temperatures? :s

Before I RMA'ed my Asus P5B-E, I got two weeks of enjoyable life out of it. My CPU ran at 28-30 degrees idle, and 35 stressed. Then I overclocked it and it ran about 35 idle and 45 stressed.

Because the motherboard died pretty quickly, I got mine replaced yesterday (FINALLY...) installed it all today and I'm back, but I've seen that my cpu temperature is now 40-44 degrees idle, without overclock.

The setup has not changed. My graphics card still runs around the same temps as far as I know (35 idle) and the motherboard is 32 degrees. Do you think this is a sensor issue? I know that I applied a bit more thermal grease on this one than before (Scythe Ninja by the way), so that could also be something to look at, but I doubt that would cause a temperature rise of 12-ish degrees.

What do you think?
__________________

Phrantic is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 05:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

are you running any type of thermal transfer compound, like a thermal pad, or some paste? usually when there is none it can raise temps, or if the HSF is not resting evenly on the cpu.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 06:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

Like I said, I've got thermal grease; Arctic Silver 5.
Phrantic is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 06:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

where are you getting the temps at? in the bios or windows, or both?

might be a bad sensor, i doubt it tho. can you verify the temps? (like with ur finger on the hsf, or a thermomitor, something like that)
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 07:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

I'm using Asus PC Probe to check the temps. I'm guessing that, since it's Asus software, it uses the same information from the sensor the BIOS does. But I haven't checked the BIOS temps yet.

The heatsink feels very cool, almost as cool as when it's off, that's why I'm having doubts about the sensor. But I want certainty before I start overclocking now.

EDIT: The BIOS shows similar temperatures. My idle temp has now risen to 45-50 since I moved the pc to my room. I've activated performance mode on the fans in the BIOS rather than auto... but that doesn't help either.
Phrantic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.