S.M.A.R.T. Status Bad - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2006, 05:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to tonyisnt
Default S.M.A.R.T. Status Bad

It's possibly that nobody will know what I'm looking for as it's kind of particular, but I figure it's worth a shot....

Most of the time when a hard drive's SMART status goes bad, that means your drive is taking a dump on you and to back stuff up and get yourself a new one...I know that. We had a HDD go on us about 6 months ago...the computer it was in is running all fine and dandy with a new one and all is good. The problem is...I have a 160 HDD sitting around and I REALLY want to use it. Samsung won't replace it because it was sold as part of a system...Emachines won't replace it because they're lame.

I want to know, what PHYSICALLY went wrong with this drive so I could maybe tear into it and repair it on my own. You can find junk drives for a dime a dozen if you look good enough, so if I could figure out what actually inside the drive **** out on me I could probably take that out of another drive and get this one up and running again. I only plan on using it as an "archives" drive (keeping all of my cd's, dvd's, etc, backed up on) and would only be plugged in when I need to get something off of it. As it is now, it is detected and sort of works, but it takes FOREVER to do anything and pretty much at any time could take a dive and stop working all together.

So...anyone?
__________________

tonyisnt is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 06:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

If SMART has reported that there is an error with the drive, then you're going to have to replace it.

Unless eMachines have specified a warranty or service agreement with you which is still valid, then unfortunately you'll have to buy a new hard drive.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 06:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Um, You Can't Repair Harddrives, At least not in your House.
Your Need a level 10 Clean room to Even open a Harddrive.

(Remember that from my A+ Cert Book)
Ste is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 06:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

you could always stick it in the microvawe and hope for the best
__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 07:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

if the SMART function continuiously detects an error it is time to look for a new drive
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 01:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

don't overestimate youself on problems like that, even if you know extensive knowlege about it, you cann't just do it at home you need special equipents, sure you can open the case but you'll contaminate the inside not to mention you can break the the plata easily and if you loose one of the screws and misaligned the the platas then boom, get ready for some big bucks for proffessional recovery.
__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 03:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Default

it is easy
tell me what is your harddsik's model
reset the SMART modul ,that is ok

much problem with the harddisk is its firmware was damage or lost ,we should use the special tools to re-write the model .
the famous tools is pc3000 ,hrt

some one said :you Can't Repair Harddrives, At least not in your House.Your Need a level 10 Clean room to Even open a Harddrive.

it is wrong ,most the case ,you don't need open the harddisk to fix it.

www.hddfirmware.net
harddisk is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 09:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 88
Default

What you want to do is posible but you need one of the same model, and capacity. BUT, to open it up you need to build an acrylic box, make two holes and glue a pair of yellow gloves people use to clean around the house. Be sure to have the interior of the box clean. Then, put inside both drives and open them up. You need to be in a place with not to much of light drives are light sensitive. And hands oil sensitive and any other powder or subastance that's what the box is for.
PR Gamer is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 03:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Default

like smart status bad ,or head dead ,or the harddisk can not be detect ,sometimes ,only need reset the smart module data ,or re assign the heads amount of the harddisk(like your 40G harddisk with 2 heads ,now ,one of its heads was damage ,you can use special tools(it is no need to open the harddisk ,what you should do just edit the firmware ) to cut the bad head.

most the case like your harddisk can not be detected by the bios ,casue the harddisk's firmware was lost .


of course ,sometimes ,you want to save the data ,really ,you must open the harddisk ,like change the head of the harddisk.
__________________

harddisk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.