s,g,h,d,m, keys not working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2006, 07:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default s,g,h,d,m, keys not working

I have a Old Acer Travelmate 604TER laptop and I have upgraded it to Windows XP, however now some keys are not working at all , have tried hitting hard , removing key and cleaning under , could this be a Software problem ?? or Hardware ??
do I need a New Keyboard Driver or update Bios ??
any suggestions would be great ,
thanks all for help
__________________

globalmark is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 08:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if this only happened after the upgrade to XP, I would say it's software.

I'm not sure if these will work, but try these drivers
Acer Travelmate 600 series:
hotkey
powerkey drivers
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default

thanks for those mate , only the powerkey installed the Hotkey not but neither seemed to work anyway ,
Do you have any more suggestions I can try
Thanks Mark
globalmark is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
Default

We had the same problem a few days ago here in the PC shop. Just buy a new keyplate for your laptop. Should work fine
ExitProsecSpree is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default

so you recon it is the Keyplate Broken , is it easy to replace myself or do I need to get a Computer shop /acer themselves to do ( how do I do it )
and are they expensive the keyplates , as very old laptop ( is it worth it )
thanks Mark
globalmark is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
Default

It isn't hard changing this plate. Though, if your laptop is rather old, it could be that they don't sell it anymore in the pc-shops. Then I suggest you look on ebay or try searching on google if they still get sold. To change the plate, just open up your laptop, use a screwdriver to screw your plate loose, put the new one up, and screw it on.
ExitProsecSpree is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for that Mate , I will try
Mark
__________________

globalmark is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.