Ryzen 5 2400G problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2019, 05:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Serbia
Posts: 1
Default Ryzen 5 2400G problem

Been using the corsair vengeance for 6 months now and it worked fine single channel as I thought I would upgrade it with another stick when holiday discounts come and ram prices go down. It's one stick of 8GB. After buying another stick it started crashing with bsod codes like "video tdr failure", "irql not less or equal" or the latest one "kmode exception not handled". I thought it would be the newer stick that's faulty. It's the most logical answer right? Well, I was wrong. The newest stick is all fine by itself and the old one is still rocking. They both work alone @ 3066MHz, but they dont even want to come close to rated 2666MHz. Right now, the problem I've been having besides BSODs is that when I open up CS:GO, it closes down when I try to join a team. The timings are the one that are written on the RAM or increased for overclocking

The things I tried:
- running each of them single channel - worked
- running both at 2133MHz - worked
- running them at 3066MHz - didn't work (keep in mind I increased voltage to 1.35/6 V
- uninstalling all AMD drivers from my PC and reinstalling them chipset - then graphics driver - kinda worked game crashes tho

The full specs are:
- AMD Ryzen 5 2400G
- MSI B350M Gaming Pro @ 3.9GHz GPU @ 1.5
- 240GB SSD and 1TB HDD
- 2x8 Corsair Vengeance LPX 2666MHz

Sorry for my bad English if it is, I'll do any benchmarks you guys ask for, I just want to get this solved. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
azaric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 12:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,856
Default Re: Ryzen 5 2400G problem

2 problems. Firstly, Ryzen doesn't really like anything above 2933, and the chips that will run higher than 3000 require a ton of subtiming tweaking with matched sticks.
Second, your RAM is 2666, and 3066 is not only a weird ratio, but a 400MHz overclock from their rated speed. Manually set your timings, voltage, and speed (to 2666) and run it that way. The reason the both work at 2133 is because it's below the rated speed.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone had successful OC RAM for Ryzen CPUs? Wildside Overclocking and Modding 6 02-14-2018 04:59 PM
Advices and tips for my first build: AMD Ryzen 5 jerry222 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-13-2017 05:23 PM
Potential Ryzen build mikee New Systems | Building and Buying 16 04-17-2017 02:04 PM
AMD Ryzen PP Mguire New Technology and Products 46 03-20-2017 06:30 AM
Why waiting for mainstream AMD Ryzen is a good idea MadmanRB New Systems | Building and Buying 3 02-24-2017 08:45 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.