Running XFX nForce 780i W/ Intel Q6600 2.4 GHz-> PROBLEMS.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ckiller22

Beta member
Hey everybody. I am pretty new to building PCs and I just upgraded my entire system except for the Disc Drive and the Hard Drive. I am having problems. I switched a Vista x 64 system to an XP Pro x 64 (I now realize this may have been a no no) also, when installing the new OS I partitioned the drive, I had seen this done befor eand thougfht there was a boot interface that allowed you to switch between OS (I found out that HP ships a motherboard with a horrible BIOS.) I upgraded an HP TV PC, one of the newer ones, to these specs:

Motherboard: XFX nForce 780i SLI
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad inside Q6600 LGA 775, 2.4 GHz, * MB L2 cache total, 1066 MHz FSB, Requires electrically compatible board - PCG 05A (? - dont know what the compatability there is...)
Video Card: BFG tech nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX OC 768 MB GDDR3
RAM: GSkill 4 GB DDR2 RAM
Hard Drive: 500 GB stock HP drive (I wanted to keep my old files, could still access them from XP Pro.)
Disk Drive: Light scribe DVD RW (Also HP Stock)
Case: Thermaltake
Power Supply: OCZ Game X STREAM(Voltage 90Vac- 265Vac)
Efficiency 85% typical at full load) 700 Watt.
Keyboard: Logitech G15
Mouse: Logitech G9
Monitor: HP w2007 20" LCD monitor
Headphones: Turtle Beach Stereo Headset Digital 5.1 Audio