running fdisk on a clean hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2006, 02:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Default running fdisk on a clean hard drive

i have a totally clean hard drive, zeroed using active@killdisk, and i am wondering if i can somehow run fdisk. i know i'll have to boot from a cd or floppy but i'm not sure which one. any suggestions?

dayofdefeat909 is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 02:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
brinks's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144

Use whatever one you have, as long as it works.

brinks is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 03:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 9

ah i apologize for being so vague. i meant to ask where i can find information on how to do this. i have 6 xp pro sp1 boot disks but when i insert disk 6 i get the unmountable_boot_volume error. is there any way to run fdisk at all if the hard drive is completely zeroed and how do i do this?
dayofdefeat909 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 08:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748

Use an win 98 or 95 disk. at the A: type fdisk select option 4 to view your partitions and see if you need to delete anything. If not use option 1 creat a active dos partition. and follow the prompts .Thats it.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 07:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
MrCoffee's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858

if your running XP then dont use Fdisk, use the recovery console and the format & diskpart commands.

Or better still just setup your primary partition during the windows installation then do the rest from in windows.
Intel core I7 920
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 11:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351

my question si why do you need to sue f disk if youve just reset the 0s

E6300 Core 2 Duo
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.