Runng ATA133 but wanna use SATA hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2006, 02:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Default Runng ATA133 but wanna use SATA hard drive

Hi, my motherboard only support ATA133. it's a
SOYO SY-P4X400

I see newegg.com have good deal on SATA than a ATA133.

How can I able to use SATA hard-drive? Thanks
Any recommandation would be great
__________________

lmf_chinito is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 02:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to wxt38
Default

you need a sata controller if you don't have a sata connector on your motherboard.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...&Go.x=0&Go.y=0
__________________

wxt38 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 02:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

TBH, unless the savings for buying a SATA vs. ATA133 are more than or equal to the cost of the SATA controller, don't bother. a SATA drive will not operate any faster than ATA133 in most cases.
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 04:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Default

I think I will go got the ATA hard drive.

Will I be searching for ATA133 hard drive only?
Or, Does ATA133, ATA100 hard drive have a significant different?

What are the kinds do u recommand? Thanks
lmf_chinito is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 07:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Default

If I am going to get an external hard drive would it matter of getting IDE or SATA hard drive? since it uses USB to connect to the PC.
lmf_chinito is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 08:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to wxt38
Default

normally external harddrives does not use IDE , even if they do like those harddrive enclosers that are IDE harddrives compatable, they've a chip inside that convert the connection to usb 2.0 or firewire.
wxt38 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 09:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Smile

Thank you everybody for the help!
I'm going for IDE hard drive
__________________

lmf_chinito is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.