run ATA hard drive and SATA? wont recognize SATA? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2007, 01:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: run ATA hard drive and SATA? wont recognize SATA?

on the primary hard drive put the jumper on the pins which are one in from the right hand side
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 07-11-2007, 01:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: run ATA hard drive and SATA? wont recognize SATA?

on the ata drive? that would set it to slave i think.. i cant remember the jumper settings. i probably tried that before tho, but i will check when im home
__________________

turndigital is offline  
Old 07-11-2007, 02:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: run ATA hard drive and SATA? wont recognize SATA?

it should say on the drive what the jumper settings are
Nick is offline  
Old 07-11-2007, 02:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: run ATA hard drive and SATA? wont recognize SATA?

yeah it does, but im at work now so i'll check later. i think the jumper is set to the one all the way to the left. and im pretty sure thats master.
turndigital is offline  
Old 07-11-2007, 03:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: run ATA hard drive and SATA? wont recognize SATA?

well its which drive has your O/S on it
Nick is offline  
Old 07-11-2007, 04:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 146
Default Re: run ATA hard drive and SATA? wont recognize SATA?

IDE on master is the proper settings. SATA is not and does not affect Master/Slave settings.

Otherwise I'd say it's bound to be a BIOS issue, but you've already checked all the ones I can think of off the top of my head.
__________________
http://www.geocities.com/signature_s...dphxnoedge.jpg
System: Athlon 64 X2 3800+
EVGA Geforce 8600 GTS 256mb PCIE
ECS (pile of crap) Mobo
1.5 GB Corsair PC3200
Soundblaster Audigy Pro
Windows XP Pro, Lemming Optimized.
ShackledPhoenix is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 09:53 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: run ATA hard drive and SATA? wont recognize SATA?

yeah i have the IDE set to master, and i just left the SATA because there are no slave/master. It HAS to be a bios problem for sure, but I cant figure it out. I'm gonna try to go back to an older bios version, I cant figure it out.
__________________

turndigital is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Install Windows to Hard Drive waytoosmall Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-19-2007 04:20 PM
SATA DVD drive disappears after reboot nutmilk Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-31-2007 02:30 PM
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM
Help a newb: simple issue with hard drive copying? AppleBag Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2007 01:21 PM
SATA hard drive not recognized in Windows XP setup bcase21 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-31-2007 12:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.