Ruined my 6600GT tonight - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2006, 03:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
macdawg's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default Ruined my 6600GT tonight

Bought it 6 or 7 months ago for $155 or so, prices really aren't going down on the 6600GT.

Anyways, I thought it'd be cool to overclock it, but I my idle temps were 52 and I was about 75 under load, so I bought the Zalman VF700 for it.

Removed my old fan, installed this monster fan, and they did say it takes up a PCI slot, but it takes up a PCI slot and then some.

I have my PCI-E slot, then a PCI slot below it, and then firewire cables below the PCI slot that connect to the motherboard.

I started my computer without realizing that those cables were blocking the fan. I didn't realize because it was a tight fit next to the PCI slot below it, then the cables, then my soundcard below that and I was just in a hurry to go test it out. So I basically turned on my PC with no fan for my video card, screen flashed for a second then went black.

There's my story of how I screwed myself out of a $200 investment tonight.

macdawg is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 07:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574

That shouldn't have done anything really, I can run my 6600GT with the Zalman cooler with no fan and it works fine. I think there may be a short circuit or something, try reseating it maybe. Also did you remember to plug the power back into the card when you replaced it?


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'

m3trj is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 07:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

If you did ruin it, stick the old heatsink on, and send it back for a replacement.

Did you remember to put on thermalpaste?

Have you turned it on since?

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 05:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
macdawg's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813

yes i used thermal paste.
macdawg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.