Router with USB 3.0 Ports - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2015, 12:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default Router with USB 3.0 Ports

My router, Hitron CGN3 CGN3 | Hitron Technologies Americas Inc. has two USB 3.0 Ports, I hooked up an external hdd and could not find it on the network. Do I have to attach an actuals NAS server or can I use an external hdd? I do not recall getting any kind of software with the router.
__________________

__________________
|ASUS M5A97 R2.0| AMD FX 6300 3.5 GHZ|16GB (4x4) 1600MHZ DDR3 RAM|ASUS Radeon HD 7770 1GB| Kingston HyperX RAM|Kingston Hyper X 120 GB SSD|WD Green 1TB HDD|


|ASRock N68C-GS FX|AMD Athlon II X3 450 3.2 GHZ|G.Skill 8GB (2x4) 1600MHZ DRR3 RAM |Geforce 9800 GT 1GB DDR5|Seagate 500 GB HDD|



|Macbook Pro- Intel Core i5 2.4 GHZ|8GB DDR3 RAM|Samsung Evo 840 240GB SSD|


fallenapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 01:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Router with USB 3.0 Ports

According to the spec sheet, those are only 2.0 ports.

The user manual doesn't shed much line on the matter, other than stating it has 2 ports that can be setup for a SAMBA share: https://s3.amazonaws.com/modem.manua...2013-08-16.pdf

I'd imagine the configuration would be somewhere in the configuration page via the web GUI. Log into the modem/router and poke around in the settings for setting up the network share.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 01:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Router with USB 3.0 Ports

You have to go into the router webGUI to setup the sharing on it. The router says 2 USB2.0 ports for NAS functionality but their diagram shows a USB2.0 HDD as well.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broken/Non-Working USB ports -- Wi-Fi USB Hub? knockoutlounge Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 04-23-2014 12:26 AM
USB External Harddrive kills all usb ports...need input LightingBird Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-10-2010 10:46 AM
Listening ports = Open ports? Anubis88 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-07-2009 07:04 PM
Forwarding ports, but ports are not show as open? samsizzle Internet Software and Browsers 4 02-20-2009 12:06 AM
connecting usb ports of antec sonstaa to the USB mobo headers rookie1010 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 12-17-2005 03:06 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.