Router not being recognized - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2008, 06:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mars in 2145 (Doom 3)
Posts: 5
Question Router not being recognized

I have 2 computers- My mom's comp has an existing Interwebs connection with Comcast. Her comp recognized the new router fine and it's being used even now.

My computer has no internet conn., nor do I want one. I just want to set up a LAN between the two computers so a friend and I can blow each other's heads apart on UT2004.

My computer does not recognize the router at all. The Network Setup Wizard can't even start. How hard can it be to recognize a LAN?! The other computer didn't need any drivers or anything as far as I can tell, it just set the router up with the provided IP.

For info on my computers specs visit my previous thread. The router is a TRENDnet wired router.
__________________

Sadistic Tribble is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 08:07 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Router not being recognized

What do mean by it doesn't recognize the router. When you plug the ethernet cable into both ends the connection on your computer still says it's disconnected?

Also make sure you're using a straight through and not a crossover ethernet cable. Crossover is for direct computer to computer connections.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 09:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,667
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Router not being recognized

What you have to realise about routers is they aren't switches. Meaning they were created to route between 'Different' networks. If you want to setup two computers, just connect them together with a crossover cable. Improved latency, easier to setup, and you can start pwning sooner!
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 09:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Router not being recognized

Do you have the correct drivers installed for your NIC? If you don't get an IP address this may be the problem.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 09:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Router not being recognized

could you be more specific about the way your network is set up. e.g is there a switch, cables heading where? my guess is that perhaps you need to enable NAT on the router.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 10:31 PM   #6 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Router not being recognized

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
What you have to realise about routers is they aren't switches. Meaning they were created to route between 'Different' networks. If you want to setup two computers, just connect them together with a crossover cable. Improved latency, easier to setup, and you can start pwning sooner!
Acutally home routers are more of a switch than a router anyway . Server routers do more of what you described.

I agree with you that he should connect via crossover cable instead though.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 12:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,667
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Router not being recognized

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvb724 View Post
Acutally home routers are more of a switch than a router anyway . Server routers do more of what you described.
naaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwww, now that ain't right
Routers route. It's just that simple. No company is going to go through the bother of creating a hybrid technology of a router-that-is-a-switch for home users. I know cisco made switches that can route as well, but they are DEFINATELY not for home users
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
Wireless router and DHCP problems Screamsalvation Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 10-28-2007 02:21 PM
2 Router setup...possible? BoysNightOut Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 13 03-31-2007 06:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.