Router Going to Kick the Bucket? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2009, 11:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default Re: Router Going to Kick the Bucket?

Thanks guys. I lose internet wireless and wired at same time randomly. I've had both the laptop and desktop nearby and see the "internet connection has been lost" msg in the taskbar at the same time.

1. If the cable modem is fading in and out randomly...this could cause the router to also do the same, correct?

2. If I didnt have internet to the router from the cable modem...why would my router still communicate w/ my laptop wirelessly?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 05:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Router Going to Kick the Bucket?

IMO, go ahead and replace the router, worse comes to worse, it isn't the router, but it most likely is.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 09:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default Re: Router Going to Kick the Bucket?

Thanks guys...any good recs for wireless routers?
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 10:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Router Going to Kick the Bucket?

I rather enjoy my Netgear WNR834B V2

Has QoS by MAC/IP/Physical Port/Application/Port Number, and so on, great wireless signal to the laptop, doesn't seem to ever get hot, and out of having it for 6 months, it only needed one power cycle because of a unusually high load I had put on it.

Another great part, you can block websites using the built in software, only downfall, sometimes a blocked site sends an ad to another site, there URL appears and the router displays blocked by Netgear Firewall where that add should have been, but it isn't REALLY a down side, just funny sometimes.

Bought it at walmart for $70
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
Just set up new wireless router, speed help? And ethernet cable cost Q? Secret Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 09-06-2008 10:47 AM
Can't Hook up to New Router. HELP!!!!! Gobias Industries Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 07-29-2008 10:03 AM
2 Router setup...possible? BoysNightOut Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 13 03-31-2007 06:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.