rodent problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2006, 06:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 76
Unhappy rodent problems

hi guys,i have a problem with my mouse. after booting my pc up,(i have xp) when windows loads and it gives u the list of users,if my mouse(which is plugged into a usb port) is plugged in,the pc just freezes and wont load up. but if i unplug the mouse and plug it back in once the desktop has loaded then it works fine. what do you think the problem is and how do i sort it?
__________________

poetry8 is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 06:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Try a different USB port.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 10:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Change the USB Mouse support to OS in BIOS. Install the driver that came with the mouse if the problem is with a newer driver. If the problem is with the driver that came with the mouse, then install the newest driver from the manufacture website.
Law is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 10:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Or get a USB>PS/2 adapter. Problem solved.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 10:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Forgot to mention, you should also have the latest service pack 2 for XP.
Law is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 11:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
Forgot to mention, you should also have the latest service pack 2 for XP.
Mouse should work fine without it, lol.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 11:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

The problem could be with the USB controller and not the mouse. So the latest servicepack 2 for XP fixes many issue with the USB controller drivers.
Law is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 11:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
The problem could be with the USB controller and not the mouse. So the latest servicepack 2 for XP fixes many issue with the USB controller drivers.
True, maybe.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.