Restarting under load - is it PSU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2017, 08:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: England
Posts: 92
Default Restarting under load - is it PSU?

For a long time now my computer restarts while gaming. Event viewer just shows a kernel-power, 41 ID. I don't overclock. I've tried the following to troubleshoot:

Ram - I've run memtest for around 14 hours, no errors.
Video - I've run heaven benchmark and furmark with no problems. Temps seem fine too.
CPU/ram - computer restarts (not immediately) on blend test, no errors are given. CPU temps are fine, around 65 degrees.

So temps all seem to be ok, ram seems to be ok, is the only option really the PSU failing under load? Thanks for all your help.

Specs:
CPU: i5 2500k 3.3ghz
GPU: GTX 970
RAM: G skill 8gb DDR3 1600mhz
PSU: OCZ ZS series 650W 80+ bronze PSU
MOBO: Asus P8P67 Pro rev 3.1
__________________

iCobble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 11:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,068
Default Re: Restarting under load - is it PSU?

is that 65c cpu temp under load or while it's idle? If your running 65c at idle then it's time to clean out your fan & heatsink because that's too high for idle. The max temp that cpu is rated to handle is 72.6 c
__________________

__________________
The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'
Ronald Reagan - 40th president of US (1911 - 2004)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 01:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: England
Posts: 92
Default Re: Restarting under load - is it PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
is that 65c cpu temp under load or while it's idle? If your running 65c at idle then it's time to clean out your fan & heatsink because that's too high for idle. The max temp that cpu is rated to handle is 72.6 c
That's under load. I recently cleaned my computer and reinstalled the heatsink with new thermal paste.
iCobble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 07:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Daytona Beach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 13
Default Re: Restarting under load - is it PSU?

Try cleaning the fan, and while you're at it the other fans. How much wattage does your computer need to run exactly? Having to much is basically dead weight and can also cause your computer to run weird. Head over to Cooler Master: Power Supply Calculator
Put in all your computer information and it will recommend what you need. Don't try to over-shoot the PSU and don't under-shoot. I run a 400w which is 75 watts over what I need and still runs perfectly fine.
Daytona Beach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 12:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,880
Default Re: Restarting under load - is it PSU?

Usually for optimal efficiency you want a slightly oversized PSU.... If you only need 450w of power, then aim for an 800w PSU. Most will peak efficiency wise around 50% to 70% load.

That aside, I doubt the PSU is the issue... Usually a system will flat out power down instead of restarting.

I have the exact same PSU running a whole heck lot more equipment and it's not flaked once.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 02:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Daytona Beach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 13
Default Re: Restarting under load - is it PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Usually for optimal efficiency you want a slightly oversized PSU.... If you only need 450w of power, then aim for an 800w PSU. Most will peak efficiency wise around 50% to 70% load.

That aside, I doubt the PSU is the issue... Usually a system will flat out power down instead of restarting.

I have the exact same PSU running a whole heck lot more equipment and it's not flaked once.
I was always told if you need 400w then get a 450/500 cause anything over was just useless. Suppose whoever told me that a couple years ago was wrong lol.
Daytona Beach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 09:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,173
Default Re: Restarting under load - is it PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daytona Beach View Post
I was always told if you need 400w then get a 450/500 cause anything over was just useless. Suppose whoever told me that a couple years ago was wrong lol.
This is only true for quality power supplies.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 10:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,880
Default Re: Restarting under load - is it PSU?

Even a quality PSU will drop off a good bit when nearing 90-100% load in terms of efficiency. It's all about aiming your PSU around two things, what your maximum power load would be, and what the typical power load will be.

Not sure what todays average PSU on the higher tiers would do, but I assume they still handle mid-wattage loads more efficiently than at a higher wattage.

Even if one does get a PSU that's a few hundred watts over the top, it's not necessarily waste, though your pocket might regret it. In theory since it's not killing it self it could last longer, but I don't think anyone has ever actually tried to test that theory on a large scale in a controlled environment. I certainly wouldn't want my PSU to be under maximum potential load for hours on end.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 11:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,173
Default Re: Restarting under load - is it PSU?

Quality PSUs are rated at continuous usage which is why they have an overhead before triggering a protect. Units like the P2 in my server, or even the G3s I've built with recently are efficient for almost the complete wattage range. The gold units are at 90% in the middle with varying percentages the rest of the board. The complete band is still within gold spec though. Not to mention, most of the people recently on the boards have been buying some low end stuff, looking at barely pushing 250W, OP barely pushing 300. Let's not get back into yee olden days where everybody is recommending a 1000W PSU for nothing.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 06:51 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,068
Default Re: Restarting under load - is it PSU?

I think c0rr0sive is is referring to the peak efficiency of a power supply as explained here:
Quote:
If you see a typical efficiency curve, you will notice that efficiency varies according to the power being delivered. Usually, the power supply achieves its highest efficiency when delivering between 40% and 60% of its maximum capacity.

Because of this effect, it is recommended that you buy a power supply with double the power you are actually going to pull. This explains the offer of high-wattage power supplies above 700 W. Manufacturers don’t expect you to pull the full power from their units, but that you operate them around 50% load for a higher efficiency.
Everything You Need to Know About Power Supplies - Efficiency of 15 - Hardware Secrets
That's not saying that a 80+ or a 90+ PSU won't operate at it's rated efficiency, but it will operate at it's best @ 50% load
__________________

__________________
The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'
Ronald Reagan - 40th president of US (1911 - 2004)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shutdown while under Full LOAD fr34ky Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-04-2006 01:34 PM
using zalman fs-v7 - get 70 deg. under load :( espeed Overclocking and Modding 4 02-16-2006 05:40 PM
Temps Under Load Triple-X New Systems | Building and Buying 4 12-13-2005 12:23 PM
cpu under full load? burned-ati Overclocking and Modding 4 08-08-2005 11:20 PM
Servo's to operate when Proccesser is under load. Jnewt427 Overclocking and Modding 17 01-12-2005 09:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.