Restarting automatically - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2005, 07:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default Restarting automatically

I own a gaming and internet hub 20 units. My pcs' normally run about 6-8 hours a day. My problem is my pc's restarting usually 5-6 times a day.
These are my specs:
Sempron 2500 1.41 GHz processor
350 Watts power supply
512 RAM
Radeon 9250 128 Mb DDR
80Gb hard disk
256Mb memory card
Epox 8KDA NVIDIA Nforce 3
I really need anyone's help on this ASAP. Thank you. God bless
__________________

kramt is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 10:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293
Default

this only happens when you are playing games?
need to be more specific on how it just starts restarting
how long you had this computer for?
when did you start having this problem after the period of time you have this PC?
__________________

__________________
professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 09:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

It restarted when I play games and browsing the internet. I have my pcs' just 2 weeks ago. When I play games like Counterstrike condition zero, Warcraft, RF online, and sometimes the internet. Most of the time an error pops-up then if you run it, it will restart. Or sometimes in the middle of the game like online games and other LAN games it restarts automatically. Any suggestions what I should do? Thank you
kramt is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 09:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kramt
Most of the time an error pops-up then if you run it, it will restart.
what does the error say?
sounds more like your video card is at fault

did you update the driver for it?

try updating all your drivers
if it doesn't work, REFORMAT your computer to see if that works

since its only 2 weeks old, i doubt you have much data in your PC.
__________________
professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 10:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Turn off autoreboot after system failure. Its in startup recovery. It may lock the system, if it does post the error exactly as it says. Also, check eventvwr. Post it, too.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 10:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 72
Default

It does sound like it's your video card. Are you overclocking it? Do you notice any glitches in the graphics while playing before the error? Lots of things can make your video card crash your system so like they said, try to get an error message.
xr280xr is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 10:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

It could also be overheating?

See if you can't use speedfan and tell us some temps?
Ste is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 06:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

It doesn't always show a pop-up error message before it restarts. Also my cpu and system temperature's average is 33-35 F. And sometimes a blue screen appears that says BAD_POOL_CALLER. Is it also possible that my automatic voltage regulator (AVR) could have cause the problem? Or lack of power supply?

Ok I'll try to upgrade all my drivers and I'll update you on this. Thank you
kramt is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 07:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293
Default

heres something i found googling for BAD_POOL_CALLER

http://kindel.com/blogs/charlie/arch...05/26/282.aspx
__________________
professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 11:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

*ahem* kramt, look at my previous post. Doesn't always show an error? Thats why you do what I said above. Yes it will lock up, but we'll get more errors to pinpoint the problem. Eventvwr is also a valuable tool. It more than likely is what the above posters are saying, but this will give you more to work with.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.