Restart/Shutdown Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2007, 12:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10
Question Restart/Shutdown Problems

Hi All,

When I try to restart or shutdown my Gateway laptop computer it hangs at the shutting Down stage for about 10-15 minutes then gives me a blue screen stating that windows could not shut down properly possibly due to a driver or software malfunction. Consequently I have to do a hard shutdown every time or wait for the somewhat lengthy blue screen message to run it's course, which unfortunately doesn't stay on the screen long enough to read in it's entirety nor does it present an error code . This is a fairly recent development that I've tried troubleshooting myself but to no avail. This never happened prior to installing Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit OS. Any suggestions/fixes on why and how would be greatly appreciated.

TIA
conductor
__________________

conductor is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 10:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Restart/Shutdown Problems

run a registry scan and remove any invalid entries , id suggest Tune up Utlilities 07
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Restart/Shutdown Problems

Thanks SYL\X/3K

I'll give it a try.
conductor is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 01:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Restart/Shutdown Problems

I downloaded and ran the Tune up Utlilities 07 program (good program by the way), unfortunately it did not solve the problem. When I rebooted I got the same hang-up and blue screen message results. I did however make a perfunctory mental note of the first two lines of the message which may provide a clue as to what's causing this problem.

WINDOWS DETECTED SHUTDOWN TO PROTECT COMPUTER

DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE

Any ideas????
conductor is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 01:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: Restart/Shutdown Problems

Sounds like a windows driver is corrupted. I'd do a full back-up and then a repair install of your windows install. Seeing as how it's a dell laptop try using their restore CDs to see if you can do a repair function. If not you might do best to just back-up your files and do a clean install.

I could be wrong, but a clean install should fix any issues regardless
Grievearz is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 01:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Restart/Shutdown Problems

Thanks for your imput Grievearz

Actually it's a Gateway laptop, none the less I agree with you and believe a clean install of the OS may be the only way to solve this problem although I was hoping I could avoid taking that drastic of a route. oh well, so be it....
conductor is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 06:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Restart/Shutdown Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by conductor View Post
Thanks for your imput Grievearz

Actually it's a Gateway laptop, none the less I agree with you and believe a clean install of the OS may be the only way to solve this problem although I was hoping I could avoid taking that drastic of a route. oh well, so be it....
you don't have to completely reinstall, just do a repair-install. It keeps your files and settings, but it replaces the core OS files, and uses default drivers.

Once you boot from a standard install CD, it should be [enter], [F8], [R] (when it prompts you for the options)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 12:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Restart/Shutdown Problems

Thanks Apokalipse

That would save a lot of time but I think I may do a clean install anyways, I just noticed that the used space on my c drive is 61gb, which seems to me to be far to high seeing as how I've only owned this laptop since May 2007 and only installed the Vista OS in July. In my estimation it should be about 1/3 of that. I could see this much space being used if I were a gamer with lots of games installed but that's not the case. Currently my two largest file folders contain a total of 13.9gb
conductor is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 03:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Restart/Shutdown Problems

Troubleshooting a Stop 0x9F Error in Windows XP
Troubleshooting STOP 0x9F Error Messages in Windows

my guess is anti-virus or firewall causing this
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 03:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: Restart/Shutdown Problems

If you bought an upgrade copy of Vista retail it's going to give you some trouble doing a clean install but luckily there is a work around. I just went through all of this crap and trust me this will save you a lot of time. Boot from the Vista CD and don't enter your CD key. This will allow you to do a clean install to your hard drive. Complete the install and boot the computer into vista, now insert the Vista CD again and it will autoplay another screen. Select upgrade install and then enter your CD key. This allows a clean install with an upgrade copy. After this you'll have to activate it by phone, just tell them it's only running on that computer and you should be fine.
__________________

Grievearz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problems viewing some webpages sehana Internet Software and Browsers 4 07-30-2007 03:41 PM
Laptop will not fully boot and other problems! Help! LightingBird Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-03-2007 01:22 PM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM
Some MacBooks May Have Battery Problems Osiris Apple and Mac 0 04-27-2007 05:50 PM
Harddrive problems Shafra Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 03-29-2007 05:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.