Resolution issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2010, 10:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Resolution issues

I have a computer with a MSI motherboard (MS-7253) and I can't get a 24 in monitor, with a resolution of 1920x1200 to go to that resolution. I tried installing the drivers over again and nothing has worked so far. I can go into the video management program that comes with the motherboad, and set the resolution manually to 1920x1200, but it runs off the screen. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 11:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Resolution issues

It might not be able to go that high. Did you get drivers directly from nvidia/ati?

Might want to try driver sweeper.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 07:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Resolution issues

The onboard card might not be able to go that high? That is what I thought at first, but i can set it there, it just doesn't work on the monitor correctly for some reason. And it will only go there with 16 bit color, not 32 bit. i got the drivers from MSI, because it is onboard graphics.

The next issue is that a separate card would probably do this well, but* the case is tiny, and I am fairly certain a card won't fit.

I will try drive sweeper tonight. I am assuming you are talking about this one:
Guru3D - Driver Sweeper
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 10:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Resolution issues

Yes. If you look carefully on the board, you will see a chip that says what card you have and what version, go to the manufacturer and download drivers from them.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-12-2010, 04:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Resolution issues

Thanks for all the help. I found an old PCI-e card laying around in my old PC stuff. It is working correctly now.
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual display outputs - resolution issues djameson Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 01-14-2010 03:39 AM
Intermittant application issues caused by network?? Sonny100 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 11-10-2009 08:54 AM
Issues issues issues. Vista-64bit. 9600GT's in SLI. 4GB Vista problems. Oy Vey. TheOtis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-24-2008 12:59 PM
resolution issues with my current setup alquix New Systems | Building and Buying 4 10-24-2007 03:44 PM
Gigafast Router - Connectivity Issues When Running Torrents - Advanced Problem throthedice Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 09-27-2007 10:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.