Reseting Bios Configuration - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2007, 11:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 122
Default Reseting Bios Configuration

Here's my dilemma, i have a client who has disabled there integrated video by accident. they do not have any other video cards to use to get video back. what i thought would work would be to reset the BIOS configuration manually using the jumpers on the motherboard. my question is this: when the jumpers are set to the "maintenance" position does that override any current settings allowing me to get video, therefore allowing me to reset the BIOS. any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Wverb0783 is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 11:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Reseting Bios Configuration

Just unplug the computer, press the power button, take out the battery, wait ten minutes, and your done. No jumper mumbo jumbo.


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 11:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,056
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Reseting Bios Configuration

taking out the battery has the same effect as just resetting the jumper. No mumbo jumbo involved.
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 08:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 122
Default Re: Reseting Bios Configuration

Thanks, i'll try that first.
Wverb0783 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 10:24 AM
Keyboard not working after BIOS menu, Can't log onto Windows!! Kipjaw Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-04-2007 02:21 AM
Simple Laptop BIOS MonkeyBusiness Overclocking and Modding 4 06-16-2007 01:49 AM
can't get into bios mikee Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 04-22-2007 09:11 PM
set screen resolution in BIOS changintimes Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-30-2007 05:38 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.