Reset Button + 2 Year Old = Bad Memory? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2011, 09:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default Reset Button + 2 Year Old = Bad Memory?

My home-built has been running like a charm for 4 years now. I have a 2 year...once day while I was not watching what she was doing near my tower, she decided to push the reset button, repeatedly and very quick, probably about 20 times before I realized why my screen was going nuts. I am not 100% certain this was the initiating event, but shortly after my computer stopped loading 100% of the time. It will come on to a black screen. I have found that from here if I hold the power button down and force shutdown, and then 2-3 seconds later when everything is still winding down, push the power button again...it comes up no problems. However, many times, when it loads, things will take forever to open or load, the computer becomes very laggy.

In some cases its taken up to 6 power rests to get it to come on. It almost seems random in nature, although, 90% of hte time, it comes on after its 2nd attempt. Always sticks before the Bios/Motherboard screenload.

My theory is she perturbated my memory by cycling voltage through when she mashed reset over (It was like she was playing an arcade game she was mashing so quick)

I suppose, he same could have happened to the CPU and GPU. I have had no graphics issues. But I don't know a great way to test CPU integrity.

Running Memtest+ on the Memory. So far I have just done 1 test with all 4 sticks in and the results were 0 errors after 1 pass.

Could I have Fried part of my motherboard? CPU? Anyone have some ideas or troubleshooting plans?

SLRymer
__________________

slrymer is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 11:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Reset Button + 2 Year Old = Bad Memory?

You should run a minimum of 2 passes of Memtest. I've seen numerous sticks of memory complete 1 pass only to fail during the 2nd pass.

I would suspect the power supply or mobo as the most likely culprits.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 05:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: Reset Button + 2 Year Old = Bad Memory?

I appreciate your response. I will go rerun the Memtest several time. I really hope its not the Mobo, that might give me to good of an excuse to go build a new computer if I'm going to the trouble to tear everything down to swap outs the Mobo...I have been needing an excuse...
slrymer is offline  
Old 11-19-2011, 06:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
Default Re: Reset Button + 2 Year Old = Bad Memory?

I doubt it's the power supply.

But your best bet is to remove your graphics card and power up the mobo from the onboard graphics chip set or temporarily replace your graphics card with a functioning one if you don't have onboard graphics. Perhaps an old video card you got laying around or borrow from friend. Also if you got multiple memory sticks remove all but one, power up, test, and trouble shoot by powering up with more inserted if boot completes.

Also not excluding that your hard drive maybe be damaged.
RedKr0wz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i need to reset administration password with out a reset disk keylefoxy Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-26-2011 09:32 PM
Commputer won't boot up unless I hit the reset button after it goes through POST! Any therascalking Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 01-18-2009 12:42 PM
Problem Booting With Power Button/ Reset Works glease Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 02-25-2006 02:23 PM
Does anyone know how to reset a TI-83/84 calculator without the MEMORY menu? diabloII Off Topic Discussion 5 10-07-2005 03:04 PM
what happens when you hit the reset button rookie1010 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 04-29-2004 04:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.