Replacing Broken Screen With HDTV - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2008, 01:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Unhappy Replacing Broken Screen With HDTV

Recently my laptops monitor was broken, to the extent that non of the desktop is visible. I currently have the correct cable to wire my laptop up to my Samsung HDTV to use this instead.

After wiring up the laptop and setting the tv to the correct 'PC' Channel the laptops desktop is visible for all of .. 1 second and promptly dissapears, the tv then switches its self onto standby.

I am looking for a solution without having to replace the old screen or purchasing a new cable.

Thanks Tom
__________________

__________________
Ric2k6 is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 09:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,581
Default Re: Replacing Broken Screen With HDTV

Hello,

What laptop do you have? Do you not see anything on screen during POST (when you first power on the PC), even on your HDTV when you connect it?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C

Desktop PC Build 2 - Mini ITX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 @ 3.4 GHz | Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Mini | ARCTIC Freezer 11 LP CPU Cooler | ASUS P10S-I Mini ITX Server Motherboard | Global Memory 32GB DDR4-2133 ECC RAM | Kingston SSDNow UV400 128GB SSD + 2x128GB SSD RAID 0 | Corsair SF600 600W SFX Modular PSU | SilverStone Milo ML08 Mini ITX Case (with carry handle) |


Desktop PC Build 1 - Micro ATX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X | Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler | Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 Micro ATX Motherboard | Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-2133 RAM | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB SSD + 2x500GB SSD RAID 0 | Seasonic Platinum Fanless 520W Modular PSU | NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case |
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 04:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: Replacing Broken Screen With HDTV

Nothing is visible on the tv or the laptop screen, all i get is the initial flash of the desktop on the tv, which is then replaced by 'no signal' and the tv then turns onto standby and the resolution in the laptop settings changes to 800x600.

Does anyone have any ideas?
__________________
Ric2k6 is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 04:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Unhappy Re: Replacing Broken Screen With HDTV

bumpp.

Need help to sort this out dont have another computer to use regularly need a solution asap, thank you.
__________________
Ric2k6 is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 05:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Replacing Broken Screen With HDTV

sounds like the laptop isn't capable of running on the hd res. what you could do is buy a new screen and that's pretty straight forward to replace.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 05:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Unhappy Re: Replacing Broken Screen With HDTV

Well, that is a pretty straight forward solution but due to the lack of funds atm to buy a new screen.

Which is why i asked for a way for this to be resolved WITHOUT money, and i'm pretty sure the laptop must be able to run on the res as, like i said the screen does flash up with the desktop perfectly displayed but then dissapears and displays no signal. If it couldn't i imagine it not even trying? or if it did not being displayed properly?

Anyone have any possible solutions other than just buying a new screen?
__________________
Ric2k6 is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 04:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: Replacing Broken Screen With HDTV

Bumppppp againnnn kinda need this fixingg sorry for the impatience but its kind of needed.

ty ~
__________________
Ric2k6 is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 07:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default Re: Replacing Broken Screen With HDTV

does the screen work until the loading of windows? i had that problem, i went into the advanced boot options and booted vga mode then changed the res there. fixed it for me.
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 09:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: Replacing Broken Screen With HDTV

If by the screen you mean the laptop then no as i said it was smashed and didnt display anything, and the HD TV displays all of a second of any part of the system desktop or boot sequence and cuts out, cant get long enough to configure anything.
__________________

__________________
Ric2k6 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting PC video to HDTV Chaconne Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 12-01-2007 09:23 PM
how do u adjust the widescreen ratio when connecting to a HDTV? Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 09-19-2007 12:20 PM
Blue Screen before login Chrono Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-28-2007 02:36 AM
PC Broken? Vaanish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 07-05-2007 09:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.