replaced processor with bit older one, comp won't start up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2009, 11:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 17
Default replaced processor with bit older one, comp won't start up

hi,

i replaced a 2.66ghz processor with my older one a 2.4ghz processor and my comp won't start back up. I was careful to take out the processor chips / heatsink fans etc. But now hard drive makes a reading noise when I power it on, but nothing else gets loaded up (mouse, keyboard, monitor etc)

This is on a custom machine as well, not a prebuilt one.


Do I need to post specs? I am not sure what my MOBO is though.
__________________

pauljones is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 12:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: replaced processor with bit older one, comp won't start up

Have you reset teh CMOS to get teh BIOS back to default settings?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 01:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: replaced processor with bit older one, comp won't start up

Quote:
Originally Posted by pauljones View Post
hi,

i replaced a 2.66ghz processor with my older one a 2.4ghz processor and my comp won't start back up. I was careful to take out the processor chips / heatsink fans etc. But now hard drive makes a reading noise when I power it on, but nothing else gets loaded up (mouse, keyboard, monitor etc)

This is on a custom machine as well, not a prebuilt one.


Do I need to post specs? I am not sure what my MOBO is though.
I'm not insulting your intelligence, but did you forget the Power Plug on your CPU Fan? Many people (including myself) have done that on occasion without noticing, also check if the 24 Pin connector was actually in the board.. and if your Video Card uses a Power connector, check that's in there too...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 01:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 17
Default Re: replaced processor with bit older one, comp won't start up

so I've double checked the power cables and SATA cables etc, everything is connected to the MOBO. I can power it on, hear a few whirs from the HD and then nothing else comes on. Monitor doesn't show up and the USB mouse / keyboard dont light up either.

This was only from switching the processor. I took out the heatsink, switched chips and put the heatsink back in place. have no clue now...
pauljones is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 02:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: replaced processor with bit older one, comp won't start up

what processor did you have?
what processor do you have now?
what motherboard do you have?
what bios version are you running?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
32 bit OS RAM limitation. Jayce Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 49 11-11-2013 11:14 AM
Difference Between 32 Bit (x86) and 64 Bit (x64) KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 30 08-29-2009 09:05 AM
My Hjt Log File! yoshi1476 HijackThis Logs (finished) 5 09-05-2008 08:06 AM
Computer Still acting screwy Shana2415 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 10 09-03-2008 11:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.