Replaced GTX560ti with new GTX970 and PC will no longer POST - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2014, 10:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1
Default Replaced GTX560ti with new GTX970 and PC will no longer POST

My PC is a few years old and I decided to upgrade my GTX560ti to a GTX970.
After replacing and trying to boot up, I'm greeted with 1 long beep followed by 3 short beeps, which with my Asus P8P67 PRO I understand to mean a graphics card issue.

I tried the 970 in another PC and it appears to work just fine, so going back to mine I tried resitting in another PCI slot and still no joy. I tried clearing my CMOS and updated my BIOS which also didn't help. I've swapped around power sockets on my PSU which didn't make a difference, and the last thing I did was swap out the power cables which predictably didn't do anything.
After each change I reverted back to my old 560ti to test, and it continued to work every time.

So, is there anything else I can try? Or maybe there's some compatibility issue I have overlooked? It's getting pretty frustrating.

CPU: i5 2500k
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 PRO
PSU: Corsair HX750

Both the graphics cards are MSI Twin Frozr editions.
__________________

Terhen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 10:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Replaced GTX560ti with new GTX970 and PC will no longer POST

That's odd but remember there being a similar issue with certain 770's with particular boards doing the same. Try uninstalling the driver with a good driver cleaner and maybe it will start as a default card, also make sure you have the 6 and 8 pins well seated, I've had that happen on my MSI 770 and stopped on the boot up, I reseated the plug and went on, I like MSI but wow did they make the card hard to put the power plugs in or take them out on the 770 anyway
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 02:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Replaced GTX560ti with new GTX970 and PC will no longer POST

The board issue was with proprietary OEMs not liking Nvidia cards due to the PC being shipped with AMD.

Yea that up there is what I tell everybody each time. Make sure the power cables are in there all the way. On newer cards it can be difficult and feel like it's in all the way but sometimes it's not and that will cause the PC not to post.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 06:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Replaced GTX560ti with new GTX970 and PC will no longer POST

Curious, does the other computer where it works have a 4 pin molex connection on the motherboard? The GPU might be wanting more power from the PCI-e slot than the motherboard can provide...

Also, that motherboard is known to have boot issues, chances are it has issues with certain graphics cards wanting more power from the PCI-e slot.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 06:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Replaced GTX560ti with new GTX970 and PC will no longer POST

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terhen View Post
My PC is a few years old and I decided to upgrade my GTX560ti to a GTX970.
After replacing and trying to boot up, I'm greeted with 1 long beep followed by 3 short beeps, which with my Asus P8P67 PRO I understand to mean a graphics card issue.

I tried the 970 in another PC and it appears to work just fine, so going back to mine I tried resitting in another PCI slot and still no joy. I tried clearing my CMOS and updated my BIOS which also didn't help. I've swapped around power sockets on my PSU which didn't make a difference, and the last thing I did was swap out the power cables which predictably didn't do anything.
After each change I reverted back to my old 560ti to test, and it continued to work every time.

So, is there anything else I can try? Or maybe there's some compatibility issue I have overlooked? It's getting pretty frustrating.

CPU: i5 2500k
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 PRO
PSU: Corsair HX750

Both the graphics cards are MSI Twin Frozr editions.
Call msi international and explain your problem to them.
MSI UK - Computer, Laptop, Notebook, Desktop, Mainboard, Graphics and more
You're probably not gonna like this but I think you lack power.
MSI GeForce GTX 970 4GB Twin Frozr V Gaming OC Video Card Review - Test System Setup & FPS Numbers Explained
View this page here as an example see the psu they use ?
You might want to consider looking into a 1000 watt psu.
See what msi says first about your issue and come back with what they said and what you want to do.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 06:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Replaced GTX560ti with new GTX970 and PC will no longer POST

He doesn't need a 1000w PSU for a card that takes less power than what it's replacing. Nvidia calls for a minimum of 500w and this card could easily run on his machine with a quality 450w.

c0r could be on the right track, but I don't think so. All PCI-E slots provide 75w period and power connectors on boards are only there to stabilize the rails when multiple cards are being used and overclocked in benchmarking scenarios.

The issue is simply going to be a small incompatibility for whatever reason (maybe needs a new bios) or the card isn't being hooked up properly.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 06:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Replaced GTX560ti with new GTX970 and PC will no longer POST

I REALLY don't think his PS is too weak for a single 970, Only thing that would stop it is if a rail in the PS was going bad, As for the issues with the 770 I checked with a friend and a 770 did the same so he called customer support and was told it wasa problem in the bios and wasn't updated as of yet, however a 760 worked fine in it but not the 770, there were a lot of people having that issue. So maybe if you try a bios update and see if that helps, It is a few years old so maybe there is something on a 970 that it doesn't recognise and stops the boot.

Dauntae
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 07:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Replaced GTX560ti with new GTX970 and PC will no longer POST

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
He doesn't need a 1000w PSU for a card that takes less power than what it's replacing. Nvidia calls for a minimum of 500w and this card could easily run on his machine with a quality 450w.

c0r could be on the right track, but I don't think so. All PCI-E slots provide 75w period and power connectors on boards are only there to stabilize the rails when multiple cards are being used and overclocked in benchmarking scenarios.

The issue is simply going to be a small incompatibility for whatever reason (maybe needs a new bios) or the card isn't being hooked up properly.
Some cards, like the Titan (yeah, i know, very different) can use upwards of 150w on the slot alone in extraordinary cases but works fine with 75w on the slot, I just know some boards struggle to provide power at times.

All that aside, it's the mobo, not the card that is the issue.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 06:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Replaced GTX560ti with new GTX970 and PC will no longer POST

Wait, what? PCI-SIG states only 25w available from PCI-E edge connector and an additional 50w from 2x4 connector. Technically the slot only provides 25w and it's up to the board manufacturers whether or not they want to provide more or not which usually leads to about 75w.

Either way though, his 560ti takes more wattage so it wouldn't be a wattage issue with the board or PSU concerning the 970. Just an incompatibility. Also the OP hasn't posted since.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
has the telephony API been replaced by windows communication foundation rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 10-18-2006 06:38 PM
Replaced mobo, worked, then stopped. blue_day10 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-12-2006 05:28 PM
Finding a replaced file? TheElise Microsoft Windows and Software 1 08-26-2005 10:53 AM
win xp system file replaced mikee Microsoft Windows and Software 5 08-10-2005 10:38 AM
Dell P4 2.26 replaced with a 1.5 Roaddog Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 15 04-28-2005 03:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.