Reformating without installing windows??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2007, 06:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Default Reformating without installing windows???

Okay I feel like a nubb for having to ask this but here goes. So my system currently had two hard drives in it which over the last year accumulated a lot of old data and slowly became jumbled with data. This being said I figured it was time to reformat them both. At the current point in time I have windows freashly installed and working properly with all my drivers on my 80gig sata1. The problem lies in my second 250gig sata1 drive. I went to reformat it using the windowsXP service pack two disc I have and all went fine except for one tiny problem it installed windows on that disc two without asking me first. It does this after formating the partition every time. So I load my good working version of windows up right click on the drive and tell it to format while im in windows. That all goes well but for some odd reason my comp still thinks it has two versions of windows on the go. What do I need to do to compleltly whipe the second drive clean to the point where it forgets about windows ever existing on that drive?
__________________

protecters touch is offline  
Old 09-18-2007, 07:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Reformating without installing windows???

right click the drive in my computer and click format, NTFS

0_0

or you can use a partition manager in a live CD or download partition magic
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-18-2007, 07:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Reformating without installing windows???

or use command line: format D:

or whatever drive letter it is.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 09-18-2007, 07:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Reformating without installing windows???

Okay I did the right click option earlier but that didnt work. I am formatting it again right now using the windows run command I hope that works.
protecters touch is offline  
Old 09-18-2007, 07:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Reformating without installing windows???

If not try: Right click on My Computer > manage > Disk Management > Find the drive in the bottom section > try to format from there.

And if THAT, doesn't work... There's always KillDisk or Boon 'n Nuke =).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 09-18-2007, 09:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Reformating without installing windows???

or you could just ctrl + a then hit the delete key
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 09-19-2007, 06:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Reformating without installing windows???

lol control delete will restart my comp not format the drive nice try though. Besides everyone know alt+f4 fixes all problems!!!!
protecters touch is offline  
Old 09-19-2007, 08:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Reformating without installing windows???

ctrl + A selects all files/folders. Then hitting the delete key deletes them all. Alt + F4 just closes the open window. Download killdisk and put it on a floppy. Boot to the floppy. Format whatever drive you want.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 09-19-2007, 09:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Reformating without installing windows???

Quote:
Originally Posted by protecters touch View Post
lol control delete will restart my comp not format the drive nice try though. Besides everyone know alt+f4 fixes all problems!!!!
that is ctrl + alt + del and it has to be hit twice in a row with a gap between them to restart. One brings up the very useful task manager where you can monitor system resources and processes.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 09-19-2007, 10:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Reformating without installing windows???

Okay so I figured something out apparently when it did install files to prepare to set up windows on the second drive it also put a mark at the very start of the drive to let my comp know windows was there. I have reformatted using my working windows on my first hard drive twice now and it does not get rid of that marker. I have yet to try a few programs that people have mentioned on here but I want to ask if anyone knows for sure if one of them does indeed erase the marker windows installer left at point 0.0 on the second hard drive.
__________________

protecters touch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
installing windows on new computer problems? darsunt Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-18-2007 05:48 PM
Installing a new HD in windows XP DocShady Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-13-2007 03:16 PM
comp not recognizing hard disk when installing windows jwh1031h Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 05-05-2007 04:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.