Reformat SCSI Hard Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2005, 02:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
Default Reformat SCSI Hard Drive

Hi, I just got a new PC and a condition is that I cannot open the case for the first year or else the warranty is void :/ and it's a family PC so I can't just disregard the warranty.

My harddrive isn't recognised in the Windows XP format and partition screen but runs fine. So I checked My Computer and saw the drive's a SCSI and was wondering how I might go about reformatting this hard drive or making it recognisable so it can be easily reformatted with the Windows XP CD.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

PS. I used Everrest to check out the specs of the drive and it came up as a SATA drive, can someone please explain why it would be "ST380817 AS SCSI Disk Device" under Driver Description yet under Hard Disk Name is "Barracuda 7200.7 SATA NCQ 80817".
__________________

RhysG is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 03:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Default

ok SCSI and raid hard drive drivers must be installed before running windows setup here is how to do it

ur hard drive isa seagate and ST versions in your case ST380817 is one of the barracude models, if you want to format this harddrive u have to copy the SATA files from your motherboard cd if your sata controller is a onboard one on to a floppy disk and when loading the new windows setup screen it will ask you to "press F6 to install third party device driver eg SCSI or RAID" or sumthinthing similar to that so press F6 during installation and it will boot from the floppy disk and install the driver. then it will recognize your drive
__________________

masta is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 09:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

wow, since when do family PC's have a SCSI RAID in them????????
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 12:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

No, that's just how windows also describe SATA in device manager. I forgot why, I guess it just consider it the same or older version don't recongnize SATA yet.
Law is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.