Recover my laptop (BSOD)?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2006, 09:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 15
Default Recover my laptop (BSOD)??

So I was about to log into my company's VPN, when POOF! the blue screen of death overcomes my laptop.

I restarted and get the choice for Safe Mode or Start Windows Normally. Safe mode loads the drivers in text, then freezes. Normal Mode, gets to the Windows XP splah screen, then teh screen goes black.

Something tells me all is not lost, so I'd liek to try to recover without re-installing Windows. I don;t mind doing so, but there is some stuff on this machine I don't want to lose.

It is a Hewlett Paxkard ze5470-us model laptop. I have the original windows recovery disks, but they will simply restore the factory HP stuff. If I've got to do this, I'll just bust a fresh install.

Does anyoen have thoughts based on what the machine is currently doing on how I can recover?? I am pretty savvy, and have built my own systems before, so point me in teh right direction and I'll do it.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

aristotlewilde is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 09:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Did you try last known good configurations? Was anything installed recently? Try booting off of an XP CD and using the recovery console to run a chkdsk /f. Post results.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 09:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 15
Default

Will do. Thank.
aristotlewilde is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 09:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 15
Default

Got into Recovery Console. Didn't let me run chkdsk /f, but it let me run chkdsk /p. This came back saying there were some bad sectors. I am now running chkdsk /r.

I had tried to run with last known good config and it gave me the splash screen, then followed with a black screen... nothing new has been installed lately. I barely ever use it, it just its in the kitchen where my fiance surfs the net on it and I log into work.
aristotlewilde is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 09:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Keep running chkdsk until it reports no errors. I always get /f and /r confused sorry. Post your results ok?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 09:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 15
Default

Will do. It is taking a while to run. Results may not be posted until the morning.

I appreciate the input and help.
aristotlewilde is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 09:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 15
Default

So, I woke up eager to check the chkdsk results only to find that the missus decided the screen to the laptop should be closed this morning. My result was a powered down computer.

At thi spoint, I am pretty much resigned to removing the hard drive so I can back it up on my desktop, then doing a fresh install of XP. It has been three years since I bought the thing and it is full of HP bloatware anyway.

Maybe I'll even dual boot it.
aristotlewilde is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 04:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Good luck. If you need any help, post away.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 11:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 15
Default

After a few driver issues, we are up and running. I love that fresh install smell.
__________________

aristotlewilde is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.