recent problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2007, 07:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default recent problems

well i've started o/c on my system, my cpu ran orthos stable at 3.01 ghz but as soon as i go higher, i get frequent bsod's and whenever i play css, it encounters a problem and needs to close after 2 mins in, any ideas?
__________________

__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 08:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: recent problems

If your CPU speed is stable at 3.0GHz and when you try to OC more and it's unstable then just stop OCing. Yes OCing can be fun, but there's always a point you'll have to stop once you system can't handle it anymore.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 08:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 122
Default Re: recent problems

You've posted in the wrong thread
Wverb0783 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 08:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: recent problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
If your CPU speed is stable at 3.0GHz and when you try to OC more and it's unstable then just stop OCing. Yes OCing can be fun, but there's always a point you'll have to stop once you system can't handle it anymore.
But i dont get it, i have a tuniq tower and the e6750 is stock at 2.66ghz, i idle at 23 degrees.
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 08:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: recent problems

Idle at 23C? What about load? Is it at 377 FSB and 8 Multiplier?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 09:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: recent problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
Idle at 23C? What about load? Is it at 377 FSB and 8 Multiplier?
Not sure about load because i checked in bios, and no its at 430x7

im gonna try reinstalling windows
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 09:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: recent problems

You might of just gotten a bad OC CPU.

Download speedfan and check your temps at load. Did you check if your RAM is limiting your OC? Also what is the voltage applied to the CPU? You'd need to apply more and more voltage to get a higher overclock, but eventually you will have to stop as it'll get the CPU too hot.
__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 09:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: recent problems

SpeedFan has inaccurate temperatures. Downloading Everest Home Edition would be a better idea.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 02:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: recent problems

Well for the heck of it, i lowered it to 2.8 ghz seems like everything is working fine, i had all vcore on stock. I could raise it, but im pretty sure it was the memory timings, by having loose timings does that mean that ure ram will be not as good to make ure cpu better?

And i doubt theres ANY way an e6750 can stop at 3.0ghz, seeing from the reason everyone bought it, for its o/c along w/ a p35.
__________________

__________________
san21893 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problems viewing some webpages sehana Internet Software and Browsers 4 07-30-2007 03:41 PM
Internet problems Deadpixel Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 07-23-2007 09:03 AM
Vista Problems FadingTheory Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-24-2007 06:55 AM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM
Some MacBooks May Have Battery Problems Osiris Apple and Mac 0 04-27-2007 05:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.