Reboots for no apparent reason - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2009, 12:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default Reboots for no apparent reason

Got a new video card and power supply a few days ago, installed WinXP SP3 and the system just blacks out and restarts after between 1 and 15 minutes. I ran memtest and it was clean of errors, the temperatures are more or less normal, the hard drive is new.

I'm not sure whether this is a software or hardware problem. I'd be thankful for any ideas
__________________

gavnoedas is offline  
Old 10-24-2009, 03:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Reboots for no apparent reason

What card? and what are the rest of your specs.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-24-2009, 10:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Reboots for no apparent reason

Updated the drivers for the new piece of equipment? Looked in the logs to see if there are any errors showing up (application and system).
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 10-27-2009, 01:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Reboots for no apparent reason

If by update the drivers you mean removing the ones for the old VGA and installing new ones then yes, new windows, drivers off the CD. Was going to download new ones, but figured it wasn't the issue. The VGA is a Radeon 4890 (1GB DDR5), it was a significant upgrage, which is why I had to buy the new power supply.

Rest of the specs are:
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo 2.33GHz, 4MB cache (can't remember the model), 2GB DDR2 800MHz RAM, Intel motherboard, 640GB Samsung HDD, Power supply is a 550W Chieftec.

There are no errors upon reboot, I tried turning off automatic reboot so I could see the error message, but it just reboots without bothering to show it to me. Where can I find these logs?

Yesterday I tried installing a random version of Win7 just to see if it would work, but got a reboot at setup. I doesn't reboot at BIOS settings though, which makes sense I suppose.

Btw, I did get a BSoD while installing Windows before, it had something to do with intelppm.sys, but I couldn't find anything about intelppm.sys aside from a bunch of complains on how it crashes systems, none of the cases seemed to fit though.
gavnoedas is offline  
Old 10-27-2009, 09:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Reboots for no apparent reason

When a system shuts down or restarts unexpectantly it's usually the CPU overheating or a faulty Power Supply. What is the Make, Model and Wattage of the Power Supply you bought?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-27-2009, 11:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Reboots for no apparent reason

It's a Chieftec GPS-550AB, 550W
gavnoedas is offline  
Old 10-27-2009, 07:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Reboots for no apparent reason

I've never heard of Chieftec so I can't say if they produce good, quality power supplies or not.

Clean out your case with compressed air. Have you ever taken the heatsink off of your cpu and re-applied new thermal paste? It wouldn't hurt to do so and clean the heatsink fins with compressed air while your at it.

Can you post a screenshot of HW Monitor?
HWMonitor
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 06:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Reboots for no apparent reason

I bought a new cooler because at first I assumed that was the reason for the reboots (which makes sense, since the temperature was at 75C while idling), I applied plenty of fresh termal paste and the temperatures are, as I said, more or less normal. Here's a screenshot of HWMonitor.
gavnoedas is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 08:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Reboots for no apparent reason

Your cpu temps are way to Hot. You might have 2 much thermal paste applied. You bought a new cooler, Make and Model please?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 11:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Reboots for no apparent reason

Ya, i agree to, 50 loads fine, but idles bad.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU bogging down for no apparent reason - Vista Home Premium Thetooz Microsoft Windows and Software 10 07-15-2009 11:25 AM
pre-historicly slow computer for no apparent reason!?!?!?! trailrider894 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 12-21-2008 11:15 PM
DVD Data Burning enigm@tic Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 08-25-2008 08:30 PM
Need Another Reason why DRM is bad ? Here it is ! Osiris New Technology and Products 10 02-15-2008 07:51 AM
My computer gets to the xp loading screen and restarts. tivaelydoc Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.