Rebooting During Windows Startup Screen / UBCD won't even work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2006, 02:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default Rebooting During Windows Startup Screen / UBCD won't even work

I have a computer I am attempting to fix for someone. I do not know much about it because I cannot start it up to see what hardware it has. It's a V2 Premier from the Video Professor. The system was purchased about one year ago. I tried to find the PC online but was unable to.

I have been searching the forum as well as google for any solution. Everything I have found I have tried. I have unhooked all unnecessary components, tried the hard drive in another computer, moved the memory to another slot, reset the CMOS/Bios, booting with a Windows XP disc, and even tried my Ultimate Boot CD. All with no success. However, each attempt seems to have lengthened the time it lasts before rebooting. At first it would not make it to the Windows XP startup screen. Now it does.

When I try to boot with my Ultimate Boot CD it loads the CD (splash screen) then when the CD begins to start up the system reboots. Similarly, with the Windows XP cd, trying to use the recovery console, the system reboots before it finishes loading all the components.

The problem began out of no where according to the owner. They were just typing in Word when it happened. Hasn't bee able to boot ever since.

Any suggestions?

Thank you!

-Nathan
__________________

rockeyman2 is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 02:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

check the processor voltage and if it has been overclocked. check the temperatures in BIOS. sounds like overheating is possible.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 11:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default

I has not been overclocked. CPU voltage is 1.47 and the temperature is 37 degrees celcius. Last night I cleaned ALOT of dirt and dust that was clogging the CPU fan but that didn't help.

I have left the computer on for a few hours now in the BIOS and it has not reset. I do not know if that means anything or not.


Thanks for the reply!

-Nathan
rockeyman2 is offline  
Old 06-16-2006, 11:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default

Anyone have any suggestions at all? I have tried all that I know. Even with the Hard drive disconnected it still reboots. Last night I ran memtest (somehow it was able to open it off of the Ultimate Boot CD) and it restarted 75% of the way through. I changed out the memory just in case that was it. Still the same problem.

So I'm guessing its either the MOBO, CPU, or PSU. How can I narrow it down. I'd rather not purchase one and it not solve the problem. The owner does not want to spend a large amount of money.

Thanks!


-Nathan
rockeyman2 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 02:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default

I am still trying to get this computer to work. Does anyone have any ideas?

-Nathan
rockeyman2 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 08:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
Last night I ran memtest (somehow it was able to open it off of the Ultimate Boot CD) and it restarted 75% of the way through. I changed out the memory just in case that was it. Still the same problem.
after re-reading your earlier posts i was going to say memory may be the issue. maybe you just had bad luck with the stick you swapped in , or is it known to be good?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 08:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

put a different psu in it and at least you can rule that out if it still happens, i had a similar problem,, chainsaw fixed it up nicely
__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 11:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
after re-reading your earlier posts i was going to say memory may be the issue. maybe you just had bad luck with the stick you swapped in , or is it known to be good?
It is good. I have tried a few sticks. One from my PC, another I had, and another from a computer I am working one. No luck there.

Quote:
put a different psu in it and at least you can rule that out if it still happens, i had a similar problem,, chainsaw fixed it up nicely
It has a new one in it already. IT used to not boot at all. I tried another PSU and it corrected that problem. However, it now reboots after about 15 min of activity. The UBCD won't even launch anymore. So weird....now I am trying another Mobo. I just got another that I can use to test the CPU as well.

so weird...and annoying....

Thanks for the reponses!

-Nathan
__________________

rockeyman2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.