Reboot or select appropriate boot device - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2007, 02:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default Reboot or select appropriate boot device

Ok so i was on my pc and everything just freezes, and the computer reboots on it's own. That happens, but when it started up it said "Reboot or select appropriate boot device or insert boot media in selected boot.." or something on the lines of that. Now i check my bios and look at the boot section and the boot device number two is missing. It used to be

1. [PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-106D]
2. [LITEON CD-ROM LTN526D]
3. [ST3120022A]

But now it says

1. [PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-106D]
2. []
3. [ST3120022A]

so i put the hard drive in the slot two.

1. [PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-106D]
2. [ST3120022A]
3. []

and it worked. However i have a few questions. does that mean my cd drive is broken? I have been having some troubles with it, it would never read a cd although it always open and closed. Is that what caused the problem?

My dxdiag report doesn't report anything wrong with the cd-rom drive

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Jahgro
__________________

Jahgro is offline  
Old 12-30-2007, 10:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Reboot or select appropriate boot device

well the cd drive data cable may have detached, check that out and give it another try. other than that it's probably a bad drive.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 10:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Reboot or select appropriate boot device

...or a defective Ribbon Cable
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Osiris' 4 Step Spyware Removal Guide (old) Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 89 12-26-2007 06:37 PM
boot device sequence funkywaggnelz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-15-2007 08:51 AM
P5K Premium "Proper Boot Device/Insert Boot Media" s-patrol Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-02-2007 12:37 AM
Boot order question AceWriter System Upgrades 0 10-13-2007 12:29 PM
Boot Device error? cfgcjm New Systems | Building and Buying 0 09-18-2007 11:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.