Reboot Problem! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2006, 02:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default Reboot Problem!

hey guys,

I have a problem, i recently bought a socket 939 AMD 3700+, a ASRock motherboard with AGP, and a 1GB stick of corsair XMS ram.

Everything was working good for a week and all of a sudden my computer started to randomly reboot when playing CS:S or burning a cd, and after about a day of the random rebooting, it started rebooting before even logging into windows. When i turn it on, it would start normaly and after about 5 secs of showing the Windows XP Professional loading screen, it would reboot, over and over untill i turn it off.

I have tried a different power supply, and a different processor and it still happens.

I have no idea what the problem would be.

MOTHERBOARD: ASRock 939Dual-SATA2 Socket 939 ULi M1695 ATX AMD Motherboard

RAM: CORSAIR XMS 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200), ram stock timings are 2-3-2-6, i dont know how to check to see what its actualy running at though.

If anyone has any thoughts or suggestions that may help please let me know.

And by the way, am not an over clocker, i have not tried or even thought about overclocking any computer.
__________________

wizzy06 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 03:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

that should have it post an error instead of restarting. then post the error back here. in your case you may need to boot to safemode to preform this action. it sounds like the mobo though since you replaced the PSU

1.Right-click My Computer, and then click Properties.

2.Click the Advanced tab.

3.Under Startup and Recovery, click Settings to open the Startup and Recovery dialog box.

4.Clear the Automatically restart check box, and click OK the necessary number of times.

5.Restart your computer for the settings to take effect.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 03:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

I did have the reboot on error unchecked, at first it was showing a blue screen and a code at the top and underneath it said, "If you have recently installed new hardware, check and make sure it is properly installed blah blah" but once it started rebooting on the Windows XP Professional loading screen, it didnt show a blue screen or error, it would just reboot over and over.

I think it may be the motherboard too, but its just wierd that the thing ran perfectly for a week and all of a sudden this...
wizzy06 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 01:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

when you say it juts down does it just die almost as if the power shut off or does it shut down normally? it does sound alot like this could be related to the motherboard though.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 11:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

It just reboots, the computer stays on, but it does an instant reboot. The computer never actually shuts all the way down, it just reboots, not a reboot like when you go to Start and Restart, it just instantly restarts.
wizzy06 is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 02:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

i ordered another motherboard, its hard to find a good AGP socket 939 mother board. The motherboard should be here on thursday, ill let ya know what happens. In the mean time, if you have anymore advice or suggestions keep posting, i check here serveral times a day.
wizzy06 is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 01:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

You know, I had a case once that did this to me. Try disconnecting the {front panel/case circuitry} from the motherboard, then power on by shorting the power pins with a paperclip or something metal.

Dan
__________________

dipique is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.