Realtek Hi definition audio problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2011, 01:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default Realtek Hi definition audio problem

Got an issue here with the onboard realtek high def audio chip on my motherboard.

Firstly I'm not 100% sure this is the right section, as I'm not sure if it's a hardware problem, driver problem windows problem or multimedia problem. I've a feeling it's more with windows but we'll see.

Anyway I was asked to downgrade a system from vista to xp, simply because it was quite slow with vista, and we didn't feel it would fare much better with windows 7 being a fairly ancient and budget build. so we did that and now we get no sound.

Here's my rig:
- intel core duo e4500
- 1gb ram
- foxconn 946 7ma series mainboard
- Geforce 7300SE Graphics
- XP SP2

As you can see the computer isn't anything special, it's just the 'system on the hallway' sort of computer that anyone can in theory jump on, do a bit of browsing and youtube etc.

Anyway, we have no sound. I've checked in the device manager and it's listed everything okay. No exclamation marks, it's detected the realtek chip and the drivers I've installed without a problem. Except of course there is no sound coming from the system whatsoever.

I've checked:
- volume
- speaker connections
- selected playback device
- used a variety of older/newer realtek drivers
- installed KB88111 UAA hotfix
- system restore
- done a bit of googling, tried a lot of suggestions such as disabling microsofts UAA driver and forcing a reinstall etc.

And still nothing

In my research I have found a million examples of users having problems installing drivers when reverting from vista to xp, mostly because of some unified audio architecture 'incompatibility' but not found many instances of people who have installed the drivers okay but get no sound.

Just posting this as a last ditch attempt to solve this problem really as my next step will be a cheap pci audio card which I'm sure will work, but seems a bit wasteful when I've got hardware right here that should be compatible.

any ideas?
__________________

dakta is offline  
Old 03-26-2011, 01:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Realtek Hi definition audio problem

Hi,

Have you checked the settings in the Realtek audio manager settings itself?
Start > Control Panel > HD Realtek Audio manager

Also, what's the exact model number of your Foxconn motherboard (should be printed on the motherboard, or alternatively it can be identified using CPU-Z or Speccy)
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 03-26-2011, 02:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default Re: Realtek Hi definition audio problem

Thanks for the quick reply...

Only option I have in the control panel is 'realtek HD sound effect manager'.

As for the exact foxconn model...I am unsure (the website lists loads), is there any software that could identify this? (failing that i'll rip the side off and get in with a torch but it's in a very tight corner).

cheers bud
dakta is offline  
Old 03-26-2011, 02:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Realtek Hi definition audio problem

Hi,

Are all the settings set correctly in the Realtek HD Sound Effect manager?

For identification of your motherboard model, you can use CPU-Z or Speccy.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 03-26-2011, 02:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Default Re: Realtek Hi definition audio problem

Yeah, sound effect manager seems allright with the jack settings, but still no sound.

I used cpu-z to get the model number, unfortunately it seems unable to narrow down whichever model it is, same with speccy so looks like I'm diving under the table!
dakta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Get Back to Realtek Audio, not ATI Audio ckop11 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 08-26-2010 05:29 PM
Realtek Audio Problem Brunoboy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 08-04-2008 05:35 AM
Realtek HD Audio Problem *Solved* Ajdeathgiver Computer Audio and Multimedia 4 01-10-2007 03:04 AM
Audio Problem With Realtek Codec larsonshow Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 06-01-2005 12:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.