Really Need Help Please!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2006, 04:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to Carbon_Fiber
Default Really Need Help Please!!!!

I just did System Restore on my computer, now it looks lie when I just bought it brand new, well everything was fine wen i was changing my my wallpaper and such when the screen turns red and then the computer shuts down, i start it up again and the sam thing happens, it shuts of by itself. Please help me!!!!
__________________

Carbon_Fiber is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 04:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

What was the reason that you did a system restore on your computer? Did you have a virus or something? The system restore rolls your PC back to the last time it was backed up.... if it is fairly new, then it could be that it backed up to before you put anything on it...

Also, it seems as though you have 2 different issue? You are going to have to provide more details than this...

When the screen turns red (never heard of RSOD before.. lol) does it give any kind of error message? Are you sure you didn't just make your background red??? more details please.
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 04:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to Carbon_Fiber
Default

yes the stock wallpaper was red and saids compaq on it, and when it starts to shut down, it turns blank red then a black screen and shuts down without warning, i system restored my computer because i had(have) a virus, i ddn't do the system restore in the control panel, i did the system restore option when the computer boots up(when you press F10 to go to system restore option) and I did that, my computer looks as if i got it out of the box a year ago, sorry if im not giving you much info, i don't know much about computers
Carbon_Fiber is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 05:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Is there any data on the computer that you want to save?
If yes, do you have a CD or DVD burner where you can write the data to disc?
If yes, put that data on disc.

Next, do you have system restore disc's that came with the computer, or an OEM copy of Windows XP? You SHOULD have recieved something from Compaq with Windows on it, and a CD with hardware drivers. If you have the drives, and windows disc, you could format the hard drive, and start fresh.

Have you tried to start the computer in SAFE MODE? Have you run any anti-virus software recently on the computer?
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 05:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to Carbon_Fiber
Default

no i don't have the disk

and yes i have ran virus scan twice in safe mode
Carbon_Fiber is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 05:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

If you didn't recieve ANY disc's from Compaq (assuming you purchased it from them, and not from, say a friend or something like that) I would call Compaq and see if they will mail you what you should have recieved. How long ago did you purchase this PC, and from whom did you purchase it?
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 05:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Send a message via AIM to Carbon_Fiber
Default

a year and a half ago from wal-mart
__________________

Carbon_Fiber is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.