Real CPU/Mainboard/Power temperatures? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2005, 02:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10
Default Real CPU/Mainboard/Power temperatures?

I have two programs on my computer to display information: PC Wizard 2005 and SiSoft Sandra. The problem is that they're showing vastly different temperatures and I need to know which one is right.

PC Wizard 2005:
--------------------------
CPU: 40 C
Mainboard: 27 C
Power: 33 C


SiSoft Sandra:
--------------------------
CPU: 27 C
Mainboard: 33 C
Power: 40 C



How do I know which is correct? Especially the CPU temp (27!!!) has really surprised me. How can this be right?
__________________

iamacomputer is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 02:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 38
Default

I would say, look in bios and compare.
My cpu temp has surprised me to. When I bought my winchester in Januar and installed it, it said 23 C (boxed, air). Now its 31C (with Zalman and oc@2.6).
__________________

wotter is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 02:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

download everest. check with that, download MBM5 motherboard monitor 5. and also try to download speedfan, though that is the most inaccurate way to find your temps. i say MBM5 then check in the bios to see which one is most correct.

MAKE SURE YOU SELECT THE RIGHT MOBO.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 03:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Everest:
------------------
CPU: 40 C
Mainboard: 27 C
Power: 33 C


These are the same temperatures I'm reading from PC Wizard (although, the GPU temp in everest is 4 degrees lower... 47 vs 50 in PCW2k5). Is Sandra just not reliable?

I couldn't get MBM5 to work, as it does not have my motherboard listed.
iamacomputer is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 04:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

Uhh the programs are getting the temps right, its just the naming thats off. What is your motherboard? Actually list your system.

Download a program called 'cpu burn-in' just google it. what ever temp goes up really fast when you run that program is the cpu temp. Couldn't tell you what the other 2 are.
Sui is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 04:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10
Default

My mobo is a PC Chips "Tidalwave" W30. Yea, not the best thing in the world. :/

And my CPU is a Socket A 2600+ Barton @ 1.92 GHz.
__________________

iamacomputer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.