RC410-m2 ram and jumpers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2012, 09:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 21
Default RC410-m2 ram and jumpers

Hi guys!

More problems with this motherboard, basically it won't register more than 2gb of RAM. If I put two 2gb m2y2g64tu8hd5b-ac elixir cards in, the system won't boot. I have a motherboard diagnostic card and it reports "check key lock", which means nothing to me?


However if I put 1 512mb gu34512agepn692c3gg card and 1 2gb elixir card, then the system boots up but only displays 2gb of ram installed.


If I have just one 2gb card, then the system doesn't boot up and gives me the same error, "check key lock".


I've already updated the bios to the latest version, that made no difference.


Also, I have a 2 pin jumper labeled tbd on the mobo, the manual doesn't talk about it and I was wondering what it was for...


Thanks all!
__________________

oliver lee is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 09:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: RC410-m2 ram and jumpers

What is your motherboard model? It may have a 1GB limit per slot.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 09:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 21
Default Re: RC410-m2 ram and jumpers

Rc410m2 rev2.1, its in the title

Surely if there was a limit of 1gb per slot, then a combination of 2gb and 0.5gb would produce only 1.5gb, not 2gb???
oliver lee is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 10:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: RC410-m2 ram and jumpers

I think your board's max RAM is 2GB.

RC410-M2 V2.1 MOTHERBOARD | Ecs RC410-M2 V2.1 LGA775 DDR2 Sata Board

You can do, at max, 1 x 2GB or 2 x 1GB

BTW, I don't often look on titles for models.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 10:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 21
Default Re: RC410-m2 ram and jumpers

Yeah I read that too. However I'm sure I read somewhere that the limit is 4gb. And even if it was two, that wouldn't explain why it won't boot up with just a single 2gb stick...
oliver lee is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 10:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: RC410-m2 ram and jumpers

It says, right on that page, that it only accepts 2. Show me where you say 4, then.

Theoretically, if 2 + 512 = 2, then 2 would be the limit, don't you think? Unless the 512 stick is bad.

It may not accept a 2GB stick by itself. Weird things, these old boards.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 10:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: RC410-m2 ram and jumpers

You did not state the revision umber so I used v1.0. According to the crucial web site for your memory upgrade:
Quote:
Memory Type: DDR2 PC2-6400, DDR2 PC2-8500, DDR2 PC2-5300, DDR2 (non-ECC)
Maximum Memory: 2GB
Slots: 2
Each memory slot can hold DDR2 PC2-6400, DDR2 PC2-8500, DDR2 PC2-5300 with a maximum of 1GB per slot.*
*Not to exceed manufacturer supported memory.
Computer memory upgrades for Elite Group (ECS) RC410-M2 (1.0) Motherboard from Crucial.com
Joe C is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 11:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 21
Default Re: RC410-m2 ram and jumpers

@ Joe C, its in the third post, rev 2.1, sorry its not it the title.
And like I said, surely if the maximum per slot is 1 gb, then a 2gb stick and a 0.5gb stick would only produce 1.5gb? However in mine it produces 2gb

@ MindoverMaster,
ECS Web Site
Due to the operating system limitation, the actual memory size may be less than 4GB for the reservation for system usage under Windows 32-bit OS. For Windows 64-bit OS with 64-bit CPU, there is no such limitation

Why would someone write that if the maximum memory was 2gb anyway?
Also:ECS RC410-M - maximum memory? - Elitegroup - Motherboards-Memory

Although that's not quite the same mobo, they suggest that a 2gb and 2gb would produce 3gb, which is above the maximum for that board.

Thanks for the help so far guys!
oliver lee is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 02:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: RC410-m2 ram and jumpers

It is a limitation of the motherboard chipset, you can not go above 2GB with out risking system instability. The "warning" is when employing a high memory GPU as the OS memory limitation is applied to the system RAM and other devices that use RAM because in theory you can have more RAM than system RAM due to an add-on GPU.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 03:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 21
Default Re: RC410-m2 ram and jumpers

There is no system instability, it fails to start.

Also are you suggesting that a 32bit OS can only have 3gb System memory and GPU memory combined?
__________________

oliver lee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rc410-m2 rev2.1 motherboard wont post oliver lee Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 04-06-2012 09:12 AM
Jumpers... are there more than one? OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 6 08-01-2007 12:50 AM
Jumpers? ManBearPig Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-25-2006 04:37 AM
Motherboard - Jumpers Shrimp Overclocking and Modding 3 06-22-2005 09:13 AM
Jumpers? Riff-Raff Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 06-06-2005 06:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.