Raptor Drive Corrupt Please Help!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2008, 01:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Exclamation Raptor Drive Corrupt Please Help!!!

Case: COOLER MASTER COSMOS 1000

Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX

PSU: Thermaltake W0106RU Complies with ATX 12V 2.2 & EPS 12V version 700W Power Supply 100

Soundcard: Creative 70SB046A00000 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Interface Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional Series

RAM: Patriot Extreme Performance 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory

Hard Drive 1: Western Digital Caviar SE WD5000AAJS 500GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

Hard Drive 2: Western Digital Raptor WD1500ADFD 150GB 10000 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 1.5Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

Graphics Card: EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card

DVD-Ram: Newegg.com - Sony NEC Optiarc Black 20X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 20X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM SATA 20X DVD±R DVD Burner - CD / DVD Burners

CPU: Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor

Ok I have a problem. I have just built this computer and have installed all the drivers and everything worked for a good 2 weeks. Then due to one simple thing it messed up. I have this senior ex project and I needed the pictures from my old computer which is a Dell 8400. All I did was switch the RGB cable from my new computer to the old and then switch it back and then I had no signal at all from the monitor. I tested this with 2 other monitors and the same result happened. I therefore concluded that it was my hard drive so I reformatted it successfully and reinstalled the drivers again. This fixed the monitor problem but it was short lived when I returned after shutting off the computer. I turned it on and it loaded everything but when it came to the windows bar right before you log into your account I received that the WINDOWS/MS/CONFIG file was missing and therefore would not start it kept saying "press r to repair from windows xp disk. I was baffled, frustrated, and angry when it said this because I'm like "how can the configuration file just get up and leave". I then did what it asked and tried to reformatted again but worse was upon me. When I put the disk it and ran it it went through its normal motions and I got to as far as when you have to press the F8 key to accept. When I did this it went to the bluescreen of death saying I had a BAD_POOL_CALLER with the numbers 0x000000C2 (0x0000043, 0xC1EA9000, 0X00000000, 0X00000000. This is where I'm currently stuck if anyone out there can tell me how to recover my Raptor Drive to work or completely wipe everything out of it I will the the happiest person ever. Thank you.

Update*
I have currently installed my OS on my normal 500GB harddrive
raptor drive still needs help.
__________________

NeoTech is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 01:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Raptor Drive Corrupt Please Help!!!

Run a check disk on the Raptor. If it has any bad sectors or anything. RMA it.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 09:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Raptor Drive Corrupt Please Help!!!

how do I check the disk? and what is RMA?
NeoTech is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 09:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Raptor Drive Corrupt Please Help!!!

Check Disk:

How to perform disk error checking in Windows XP

RMA: Return Merchadise Authorization.

Meaning take it back. If it has bad sectors and not working then there is a hardware defect with it. Either that or you can try to format it with GParted or something like that.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 12:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Raptor Drive Corrupt Please Help!!!

I'm not risking installing my OS on my raptor drive again.
Workes just fine on my 500 GB one

Update* Now my sound card CD wont even install GRRRR

it says:
DoInstall fails to launch
D:\Audio\CSLaunch\Setup\INX.
DoInstall return error code is -2147024875
NeoTech is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 02:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Raptor Drive Corrupt Please Help!!!

This is XP right?

Check the CD for scratches and make sure the system is up to date.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 11:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Raptor Drive Corrupt Please Help!!!

everything is perfect Raptor Drive works thank you
__________________

NeoTech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
windows\system32\config\system\ corrupt MikeCo_44 Microsoft Windows and Software 9 01-27-2008 02:28 PM
Memory Errors, Corrupt downloaded files... pha3r0 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-08-2007 02:00 AM
how do i check if my ram is corrupt? AdamW Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 07-19-2007 02:48 PM
Corrupt windows XP file, wont boot XP spikoman69 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 07-07-2007 05:43 AM
Windows\System32\Config\System file corrupt or either missing. WTF?!? OneArmedScissor Microsoft Windows and Software 2 06-01-2007 04:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.