Randomly Shut Off? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2008, 08:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Randomly Shut Off?

So.. I was in the middle of playing a video game and my computer shut off.. My temps were low and everything... I tried a different power supply and it wasn't that... Any ideas? When i try to boot the system.. it does nothing no fans spinning or anything.. I tried reconnecting everything still didn't work... Suggestions plz.
__________________

__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 11:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Naphtali14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via AIM to Naphtali14 Send a message via MSN to Naphtali14 Send a message via Yahoo to Naphtali14
Default Re: Randomly Shut Off?

If it won't start up at all and nothing will power up. I would triple check the case power cables and make sure that none of them have become loose and that they are all in the right spots. Then I would check to make sure that the outlet is providing power at all.
__________________

Naphtali14 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 12:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: Randomly Shut Off?

I guess I should mention that.. about an hour prior to my computer shutting off.. i lost power.. but when power was restored my computer turned back on and it was fine... About an hour or so later it randomly shut off, no movement to the computer or anything. I "rebuilt" the computer about 4 times now and still nothing... There is also no light on the mobo on either saying that it has power.. I did change the PSU and still nothing.. I'm starting to believe the MB went on it.
__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 12:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Naphtali14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via AIM to Naphtali14 Send a message via MSN to Naphtali14 Send a message via Yahoo to Naphtali14
Default Re: Randomly Shut Off?

And you did check the fuses and the outlet to make sure it is providing power right?
Naphtali14 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 01:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: Randomly Shut Off?

Yeah, i actually tried it in multiple outlets.

Do you think that the MB is fried?
__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 05:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Naphtali14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via AIM to Naphtali14 Send a message via MSN to Naphtali14 Send a message via Yahoo to Naphtali14
Default Re: Randomly Shut Off?

Ya.. if you're sure that its not the power supply then I would say that its the motherboard since that is the component that tells everything else to turn on. If you're lucky that will be the only thing that got fried when the power went out and you'll be able to save the processor and RAM etc..

Another thing is depending on how old the mobo is you could try and RMA it if its not that old.. I'm not saying this is a very ethical thing to do lol but if it is a newer board it might be worth a shot...
Naphtali14 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 09:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: Randomly Shut Off?

it's 2 weeks old, so yes.. that is what i'll be doing on monday.
__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 10:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 81
Default Re: Randomly Shut Off?

before you rma your MB check your ram sticks and any other add on card you have and see if you dont notice anything burnt or transistors popped or leaking. do the same for the MB
kagekitsune is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 11:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: Randomly Shut Off?

alright wil do when i get up in the morning, about to pass out.. i have no ad-on cards so i'l be sure to check the ram, mb... i don't think it's the ram, because i'm not getting any power to the computer at all... It's either the fact i have 2 bad psu's, or a bad mb.. a bad mb is more probable, will look at the mb transistors though.
__________________

__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Randomly Shuts Down will h4x 4 food Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 08-29-2008 12:16 PM
Computer Randomly Shuts Down will h4x 4 food Overclocking and Modding 3 08-28-2008 04:52 PM
Random Shut Downs. Ideas And Theories Please Dingadilly Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-28-2007 12:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.